Guides: Find information: Newspapers

Find newspaper articles

Go to the Library Website
Select the Login to search
Select UniSC Students and Staff (enter username and password if prompted)
In the top menu bar, select the ellipses ...
Select Newspapers Search
Search by keyword (e.g. topic or event)
Select Search
Use filters to limit by publication date, subject area or even resort by newest to oldest.
When you find an article you would like to read, select Available Online
Select a database to view the article. If there are multiple databases listed, select the database that includes the year the article was published.

Use the Journal Title search to search for Newspapers (e.g. Courier Mail).

Search Discover for newspaper articles

1. In Discover, select the ellipses ... to see more menu options.

2. Select Newspapers Search.

3. In the search bar, enter keywords/topic and select the Search icon.

4. Use the left side filters to refine by date, subject area or newspaper title (hint: called Journal title).

4a. You can sort the results by relevance (default) or by Date - newest.

5. When you find an article you wish to read, select Available Online.

6. Select a database to view the article. If there are multiple databases listed, select the database that includes the year the article was published.

News Databases

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Online access to Australian newspapers from both Fairfax News Ltd., ABC and New Zealand newspapers. It also contains transcripts of ABC's news programs of the last 2 years.

Trove Digitised newspapers and more
Full text access to archives of Australian newspapers from the National Library of Australia (Trove)
Google News
Google News is a computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from more than 4,500 English-language news sources worldwide, groups similar stories together and displays them according to each reader's personalized interests.

International Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of international news and newspaper resources, including Australian & New Zealand Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, and US Newsstream.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database containing peer reviewed journal articles, newspapers and news wires, radio and TV news transcripts, and trade publication relevant to business.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text and indexed database for national and regional news sources from the U.S that includes current U.S. news content and archive material from the 1980s. Includes news, articles, features, correspondence, broadcast transcripts and blogs from top titles including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Collection of multidisciplinary full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, encyclopaedias, government and official publications, magazines, newspapers, trade journals, reports, wire feeds and standards.