Guides: UniSC Research Bank: Output Types

Output Type	Definition
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Conference Paper (link to Research Bank)	A conference paper that is submitted to an academic conference and presented to the audience. It may or may not have been published in available proceedings (not in scholarly journals).
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Conference Poster (link to Research Bank)	Posters are displayed in a conference setting and convey research highlights in an efficient manner by compelling graphics. They may be peer-reviewed prior to the acceptance and published in the proceedings.
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Conference Presentation (link to Research Bank)	Conference item not meeting the criteria for a Conference Paper, Conference Poster, or published Abstract. May include presentations, keynotes, and workshops.
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Conference Program	Program of a conference where the researcher created the program.
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Poster (link to Research Bank)	Poster, not presented at a conference. May include infographics or posters advertising an event.
CONFERENCE/EVENT: Presentation (link to Research Bank)	Presentation, not presented at a conference. May include seminar presentations.
CREATIVE WORKS: Choreography	The art or practice of designing sequences of movements of physical bodies (or their depiction) in which motion or form of both are specified.
CREATIVE WORKS: Dance (link to Research Bank)	Works include dance performances by recognised leading practitioners (e.g. actor, musician, dancer, director, dramaturge, choreographer, designer, conductor or other creative artists). Includes solo performances, and significant contributions to performances made by a group or a number of individuals.
CREATIVE WORKS: Design and Architecture (link to Research Bank)	Works include architecture and design (built or unbuilt). This may include new techniques of conceptualisation, design, fabrication, compositional processes, or new relationships to programs of social utility.
CREATIVE WORKS: Drama	A work intended for the stage.
CREATIVE WORKS: Essay (link to Research Bank)	Short literary prose composition, usually dealing with a single theme and from the writer's personal point of view.
CREATIVE WORKS: Exhibition Catalogue (link to Research Bank)	A catalogue of an exhibition in a museum or gallery.
CREATIVE WORKS: Fiction (novel, short story) (link to Research Bank)	Work consisting of creative writing, not presented as factual.
CREATIVE WORKS: Film (link to Research Bank)	A single media or multi-media production that is fixed on film, digital medium, videotape, computer disc, laser disc, or similar delivery medium.
CREATIVE WORKS: Musical Composition (link to Research Bank)	Musical composition can refer to an original piece of music, the structure of a musical piece, or the process of creating a new piece of music.
CREATIVE WORKS: Musical Performance (link to Research Bank)	Works including musical performances by recognised leading practitioners (e.g. actor, musician, dancer, director, dramaturge, choreographer, designer, conductor, or another creative artist). Includes solo performances, and significant contributions to performances made by a group or a number of individuals.
CREATIVE WORKS: Musical Score (link to Research Bank)	A written form of musical composition.
CREATIVE WORKS: New Media (link to Research Bank)	New media are forms of media that are computational and rely on computers for redistribution. Some examples of new media are computer animations, computer games, human-computer interfaces, interactive computer installations, websites, and virtual worlds.
CREATIVE WORKS: Non-fiction (link to Research Bank)	Outputs that convey information about the real world, rather than being grounded in imagination.
CREATIVE WORKS: Other Creative Works (link to Research Bank)	Other creative works, not mentioned here, include: Photography Installation Curated Exhibition/Curated Festivals Exhibition Ephemera Cover Designs Digital Art
CREATIVE WORKS: Painting (link to Research Bank)	An output of painting which is the practice of applying paint, pigment, colour or other medium to a solid surface.
CREATIVE WORKS: Poetry (link to Research Bank)	Works that consist of literary and oral genres expressing meaning via symbolism and following formal or informal patterns.
CREATIVE WORKS: Script (link to Research Bank)	A written version of a play or other dramatic composition.
CREATIVE WORKS: Sculpture (link to Research Bank)	An artistic form in which hard or plastic materials are worked into three-dimensional art objects.
CREATIVE WORKS: Set Design (link to Research Bank)	The creation of the physical space in which the action of a performed event takes place.
CREATIVE WORKS: Theatre (link to Research Bank)	Works including theatre and other dramatic performances by recognised leading practitioners (e.g. actor, musician, dancer, director, dramaturge, choreographer, designer, conductor, or another creative artist). Includes solo performances, and significant contributions to performances made by a group or a number of individuals.
DATASETS: Datasets (link to Research Bank)	Research datasets are the recorded factual material commonly accepted in the research community as necessary to validate research findings. It relates to data generated, collected, or used, during research projects, and in some cases may include the research output itself.
INTERACTIVE RESOURCES: Blog (link to Research Bank)	A piece of writing or another item of content published on a blog, which is a website that contains conversational personal reflections, comments and sometimes links to other sites and is typically run by an individual or small group.
INTERACTIVE RESOURCES: Podcasts (link to Research Bank)	A digital audio file made available on the Internet for downloading to a computer or mobile device, typically available as a series, new instalments of which can be received by subscribers automatically
INTERACTIVE RESOURCES: Virtual Reality Environment	An artificial environment which is experienced through sensory stimuli provided by a computer.
INTERACTIVE RESOURCES: Webinar (link to Research Bank)	Content from the transmission of live or pre-recorded audio or video via connection or download from the Internet. Can be a presentation, lecture, workshop or seminar.
INTERACTIVE RESOURCES: Website (link to Research Bank)	A website is hosted on at least one web server, accessible via a network such as the Internet or a private local area network through an Internet address known as a uniform resource locator (URL).
MORE: Map	Defined as a representation normally to scale and on a flat medium, of a selection of material or abstract features on, or in relation to, the surface of the earth or of another celestial body.
MORE: Model	An abstract, conceptual, graphical, mathematical or visualisation model that represents empirical objects, phenomena, or physical processes.
MORE: Other	Other types, not included here, include: Project Summary Unpublished works Interactive Multimedia
PATENT: Patent (link to Research Bank)	This category refers to full patents (or equivalent) on specific products or processes granted for the first time, either in Australia or in an overseas country.
POSTED CONTENT: Preprint (link to Research Bank)	A preprint is a scientific manuscript without peer-review and has not yet been accepted by a journal. Typically submitted to a preprint server.
POSTED CONTENT: Working Paper (link to Research Bank)	Preliminary versions of articles to provide information or with a request for comments or editorial improvement. This category can also include working papers published as a series by an organisation without having been published as a genuine research publication.
PUBLICATION: Abstract (link to Research Bank)	Texts of a specified length that states the issue to be discussed in a proposed conference presentation. Conference abstracts that have been published in the conference proceedings. The abstract may or may not have been assessed by a formal peer-review process.
PUBLICATION: Annotation (link to Research Bank)	A brief note, usually no longer than two or three sentences, added after a citation in a bibliography to describe or explain the content or message of the work cited or to comment on it.
PUBLICATION: Bibliography	A list of books and articles that have been used by someone when writing a particular book or article.
PUBLICATION: Book (link to Research Bank)	A non-serial publication that is complete in one volume or a designated finite number of volumes. Books are often identified with an ISBN.
PUBLICATION: Book Chapter (link to Research Bank)	A defined chapter or section of a book, usually with a separate title or number. Can be scholarly or non-scholarly. Can be a revised edition.
PUBLICATION: Conference Proceedings (link to Research Bank)	Conference proceedings are the official record of a conference meeting. It is a collection of documents that corresponds to the presentations given at the conference. It may include additional content.
PUBLICATION: Dictionary entry	An entry in a dictionary.
PUBLICATION: Edited Book	This category is used for editors of a book consisting of contributions from a number of authors.
PUBLICATION: Editorial (link to Research Bank)	Work consisting of a statement of the opinions, beliefs, and policy of the editor or publisher of a journal.
PUBLICATION: Encyclopedia Entry (link to Research Bank)	Authored entries in a reference work or a compendium, usually arranged in alphabetical order, focusing on a particular domain or on all branches of knowledge.
PUBLICATION: Journal Article (link to Research Bank)	An article on a particular topic and published in a journal issue.
PUBLICATION: Journal Issue (link to Research Bank)	A journal is a serial publication devoted to disseminating original research and current developments on a subject.
PUBLICATION: Letter/Communication (link to Research Bank)	Letter is addressed to the editor / editorial office, and comments on or discusses an article published earlier in this periodical, or is of interest to a specific readership.
PUBLICATION: Magazine Article (link to Research Bank)	Work consisting of an article appearing in a periodical, containing information of current and timely interest in a field, targeted to a specific audience.
PUBLICATION: Newsletter Article (link to Research Bank)	Newsletters or newsletter sections written in full by the author/s, generally referring to serial publications containing news and information of interest to the general public or to a special group.
PUBLICATION: Newspaper Article (link to Research Bank)	Work consisting of a news item appearing in a general-interest newspaper or other general news periodical, containing information of current and timely interest in a field.
PUBLICATION: Report (link to Research Bank)	A report is a separately published record of research findings, research still in progress, policy developments and events, or other technical findings, usually bearing a report number and sometimes a grant number assigned by the funding agency. Also, an official record of the activities of a committee or corporate entity, the proceedings of a government body, an investigation by an agency, or submission to public inquiries and consultations.
PUBLICATION: Review (link to Research Bank)	A written review and critical analysis of the content, scope and quality of a book or other monographic work.
PUBLICATION: Technical documentation	Technical documentation refers to any type of documentation that describes handling, functionality and architecture of a technical product or a product under development or use.
PUBLICATION: Translation	Translations of books and articles that identify modifications to the original editions, such as a new or revised preface.
SOFTWARE: Code	A computer program in source code (text) or compiled form.
SOFTWARE: Workflow	A structured series of steps that can be executed to produce a final outcome, allowing users means to specify and enact their work in a more reproducible manner.
TEACHING AND LEARNING	Link to Teaching and Learning material
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Assignment/exercise	Activity designed to enable students to learn skills and knowledge or to test their learning.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Course workbook	A book based on a textbook or course of study, which contains exercises and questions for use by students.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Demonstration	A teaching method used to communicate an idea with the aid of visuals such as flip charts, posters, power point, etc.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Flashcards	Cards (paper or electronic) containing a small amount of information and used as an aid to learning.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Lecture	An educational talk to an audience, especially one of students in a university.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Lecture outline	A lesson plan or summary of an educational talk to an audience, especially one of students in a university.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Online course module	A component or section of a course curriculum that can be presented fully online and independent from the complete course.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Study guide	A book or other learning resource intended to provide aid and support for people studying a particular topic or course.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Syllabus	A document or website that outlines all the requirements and expectations for completing a course of study. A Course Outline gives the syllabus for one study module in a larger program such as a university degree.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Teaching activity	An activity of educating or instructing that imparts knowledge or skills.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Teaching case study	A narrative resource describing a complex interaction of real-life factors to help illustrate the impact and/or interactions of concepts and factors in depth.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Teaching manual/handbook	A book or other learning resource intended to provide aid and support for people teaching a particular topic or course.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Test/quiz question bank	A set of standardised questions intended to evaluate the knowledge and/or skills of learners.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Textbook	A book used as a standard work for the study of a particular subject.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Tutorial	A group learning activity designed to meet stated learning objectives, structured to impart specific concepts or skills and guided by a teacher or tutor. Feedback on learner performance is an essential component of a tutorial.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Video teaching demonstration	A recording of moving visual images that show real people, places and things that enable students to learn skills or knowledge.
TEACHING AND LEARNING: Other learning objects	Any learning object not classified in the other categories.
THESES	Thesis and dissertations from UniSC or other institutions. May be honours, graduate or doctoral. Link to Doctoral theses Link to Undergraduate and Graduate theses