Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo
Library Guides

USC Research Bank

What can you submit to the USC Research Bank?

USC welcomes contributions from USC staff (including visiting and adjunct academic staff) and students of research outputs including:

  • Journal articles
  • Conference papers
  • Book chapters
  • Authored books
  • Creative works
  • Datasets
  • Teaching materials and learning objects
  • Theses, reports, working papers, discussion papers and more

We do not accept the following material which should be excluded from the collection:

  • Material intended for commercialisation (a citation may be added to the repository with details of who to contact for access to the full-text document)
  • Materials which contain confidential content (a citation may be added to the repository with details of who to contact for access to the full-text document)
  • Administrative materials, such as the University annual reports, meeting minutes, committee papers or similar material which are collected in the official administrative archives
  • Media coverage, e.g. interviews, appearances, etc.

 

How to contribute to USC Research Bank

There are two ways you can deposit outputs to USC Research Bank.  If you are an eligible staff member, you can deposit missing outputs via your Researcher Profile.  If you do not have a Researcher Profile or are a student, please deposit via email.

Note: If you wish to deposit a thesis you have completed, either at USC or at another institution, you must deposit it via email.

Deposit via Researcher Profile

Eligible staff will be able to deposit outputs directly from their Researcher Profile.

  1. Sign into your Researcher Profile via the Sign in button at the top right of the screen.
  2. Click

The Essentials:

  1. Select the type of output you are depositing.  A full list of outputs and definitions can be found here.
  2. Depending on the type of output you are depositing, you may be prompted to add the title, DOI, ISBN or PubMed ID.  The system will then attempt to auto-populate as much metadata as possible.
  3. Upload the full text file, and add any URL links you may have for the output.
  4. Click Next Step: Describe It

Describe It:

  1. Enter the title of the output.
  2. Enter Fields of Research codes and keywords (note: Socio Economic codes and Type of Activity are not required, but can be entered if you wish).
  3. Enter the authors, both internal and external to USC
  4. Enter the abstract for the output.
  5. Click Next Step: Specify

Specify:

  1. Depending on what output type you selected will determine what fields will display. Enter as much information as you can for the output you are depositing.
  2. When you have done this, click Next Step: Relations

Relations:

  1. If your publication is a result of a specific grant, you can enter the information here.  If your grant isn't listed, you can create a grant.  
  2. Creating a grant: The grant funding body is drawn from a controlled list.  If your funding body is not listed, enter the information on the next tab in the Notes section
  3. Click Next Step: Review

Review:

  1. If you have incomplete information that will prevent you from submitting your deposit, it will be highlighted in red text.  Correct the information and then return to this page.
  2. Check the box indicating that you have read and accept the Terms and Conditions.
  3. Add any notes or instructions pertinent to the output that you wish to pass onto the Library Research Collections team.
  4. Add any copyright information pertinent to the output.
  5. Check the Output Summary information is correct.
  6. Click Submit 

Once you have submitted your deposit, the Research Collections team in the Library will check over the information.  You will be notified when it is approved and available in the Research Bank.

Deposit via email

Email the details of your work to research-repository@usc.edu.au.

If you have not previously agreed to our Author Deposit Agreement (see below), please include this in your email.

Please attach all relevant files, such as the published version, accepted or final version (not in the publisher's format) and any documentation relating to copyright (such as the agreement with a publisher).

USC Research Bank Author Deposit Agreement

The USC Research Bank is an open access repository. By signing the Author Deposit Agreement, you agree that you understand that details of your publications will be available on the web to be searched by anyone using the Internet, and where permitted by the copyright holder, the research output will be made available for viewing and downloading at no cost.

The Author Deposit Agreement does not transfer copyright ownership. Copyright will continue to be retained either by the author/s or the publisher. If the copyright in your work is owned by a publisher, by signing this form you authorise the Research Collections staff to act on your behalf in seeking permission to make the full-text version of your publication publicly available in the USC Research Bank.

For more information about copyright, please see the USC Research Bank Copyright page.

If you have not already signed and returned an Author Deposit Agreement, please complete the form and send to research-repository@usc.edu.au


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D