Skip to Main Content
USC logo

Endnote 21

Before you use Endnote

Is Endnote for me?

 Endnote is for researchers and HDR and Honours students and students whose final year course involves a major research project. 
UniSC staff and students can download Endnote software and participate in training. Please consult the Student Hub.

Clarivate provides technical support for UniSC Endnote users.

Training and technical support

Group training sessions are for research students and staff only, or upon the request of an academic for a timetabled tutorial. The group training details can be found under the HDR section of Student Hub and in the staff view of MyUniSC.

For all technical help, we direct users to Clarivate Support.

Known issue with Endnote 20 in January 2024

Newly upgraded to, or recently installed, Endnote 20 cannot Sync nor connect to Endnote Online. This issue limits the space on how big the library can be. It also prevents library back up and sharing functions.

To back up your Endnote 20 Library: Go to file > Compressed Library. Follow the steps and do not change the default settings. This trick should create a zip-file copy of your library. Unlike Sync to Endnote Online, the Compressed Library option does not auto save changes.

Download Endnote to get started.

Steps to Get Started with Endnote at UniSC

  1. Download  Endnote. UniSC users should not obtain the software from any other source.
  2. Install the program using prompts. We recommend standard installation settings (don't customise). Update the software with any update patches recommended by Endnote when you see a prompt message.
  3. Set your Full-Text Preferences by following the instructions on the "Find Full-Text" tab at the left of this page . You only have to do this once on each machine.
  4. Watch the short introductory video on this page (there is a Windows one and a Mac one).
  5. Practise the major functions mentioned in the video. 

EndNote 20: Getting Started

Useful Links

Platforms

ENDNOTE is available for Windows, and Mac desktops and laptops.

An iPad/iPhone app is available from the AppStore for free.

Endnote for iPad and iPhone.

There is no app for Android devices.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a bibliographic citation manager; or reference management software.

What does that mean?

A bibliographic citation is any reference to a book, journal article, video, or other source that you might use in an academic paper or article. EndNote allows you to manage those citations by saving, organizing, and formatting them into a bibliography or reference list in your thesis, publication or assignment.

What can it do?

  • Imports sets of references found in database searches
  • Finds and imports associated PDFs when available and allows you to make unlimited notes
  • Provides a place to keep unlimited number of article references associated pdfs,charts, illustrations etc along with its abstract and, research notes
  • Inserts references into your thesis or publication and automatically formats them in the style you have chosen

What won't it do?

  • It won't teach you how to reference correctly; you need to know how to do that before using any citation manager
  • It won't make a correct reference if you enter incorrect data, or enter it in the wrong place

Should I use it?

  • If you are doing research and handling lots of references, you should be using Endnote!
  • Endnote is a computer program and it does take time to learn and gain proficiency so you should do some training before using it.
  • It is most likely to be useful to researchers writing a thesis or preparing publication with substantial numbers of references.
  • Undergraduate students who want to use a citation manager should consider using Endnote Online as it is web based and you can teach yourself to use it. However they may use Endnote on campus PCs if they wish.
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D