Research skills tutorial

You won't find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers in the library catalogue.  At UniSC, you can only find journal articles in databases such as:

• Business - ABI/Inform (Proquest) and Emerald MCB
• Science and Health - Blackwell Synergy, SprongerLink and Wiley InterScience
• Arts and Social Sciences - Social Science Journals (Proquest), Project Muse and JSTOR
• Education - ERIC, A+ Education (Informit), Curriculum Exchange
• Australian resources - Informit databases, AANRO, ANZ Newsstand (Proquest)
• Newspapers, Statistics and Current Affairs - ANZ Newsstand (Proquest), AusStats, Informit, US Newspaper Abstracts (Proquest)
• Google Scholar
• Proquest Central

On the Databases page, select your subject area from the menu to see appropriate databases, or find a particular database by title.

There are two main types of databases available:

• Index or citation databases tell you what has been published on a topic and give a description of the article, but the article is not available.
• Full text databases contain the articles as well as the description and most articles are available.

Some citation databases provide a link to the full text article.

Learn more about Article Linker

You will be asked to login to access databases off campus. Use your UniSC network username and password.

Some databases require different passwords specifically for that database.

Remember that each database has different search tools and features. Check the Help section to make sure you are using it the right way.  You may wish to visit the Journal's Webpage if you can't find them in our collection.

Back

RMIT (2012). What is a library database? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKIbnNLCh8g