Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D
Drugs and Lactation Database [LactMed]
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
Breast Milk Oligosaccharides: Structure-Function Relationships in the Neonate/ Smilowitz, J.T. et al.
Annual Review of Nutrition, 2014, Vol. 34: 143-169
Understanding the impact of inter- and intraindividual glycan diversity on function is an important step toward interventions aimed at improving health and preventing disease. This review discusses the state of technology for glycan analysis and how specific structure-function knowledge is enhancing our understanding of early nutrition in the neonate.
Born Too Soon: the global action report on pre-term birth
Reproductive Health, 2013, Vol. 10, Supplement 1
This supplement (consisting of six reviews) is jointly funded by Save the Children's Saving Newborn Lives programme through a grant from The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and March of Dimes and published in collaboration with the Partnership for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health and the World Health Organization (WHO)
Deals with issues of maternal and newborn mortality worldwide. Resources and advocacy. Women Deliver is a global advocacy organization bringing together voices from around the world to call for action against maternal death.
Gold standard consumer information from HealthInsite
Center for Breastfeeding Information (La Leche League)
Breastfeeding advocacy organization. La Leche League International strives to help mothers worldwide to breastfeed through mother-to-mother support, encouragement, information, and education, and to promote a better understanding of breastfeeding as an important element in the healthy development of the baby and mother.
Education for childbirth
La Leche League International strives to help mothers worldwide to breastfeed through mother-to-mother support, encouragement, information, and education, and to promote a better understanding of breastfeeding as an important element in the healthy development of the baby and mother.
Women's health: Queensland Health page
Guidance from Queensland Health on all aspects of women's health
Making pregnancy safer
WHO Resource. The WHO Department of Making Pregnancy Safer (MPS) helps to improve maternal health, assists countries to ensure skilled care before, during and after pregnancy and childbirth and strengthen national health systems in order to achieve Millennium Development Goals 4, 5 and 6. The main goal is to reduce newborn mortality and maternal mortality significantly by 2015.
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development
Infancy is a unique period, in that at no other state is there greater growth and development. During this time, growth is occurring at a physical level, but equally impressive are the socio-emotional and cognitive developments during this time. Genetics, the womb environment, and the physical environment after birth all combine to impact the rate and manner of growth. Who we ultimately become as individuals begins here. Intended for university and public libraries, the Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development is the major reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology. The scope of this work is to understand the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development. Although some medical information is included, the emphasis is on normal growth and is primarily from a psychological perspective. Cutting edge content will encompass the period of time from neo-nates to age three Award-winning Editors-in-Chief to ensure authoritative quality Organized alphabetically by topic for ease of reference Each article will include a glossary defining any unique terms Suggested readings at the end of each article provide a resource for additional information Extensively cross-referenced within the work to enable reader access to full and relevant information related to their interests Online availability via ScienceDirect platform
TeachMeObGyn is a comprehensive obstetrics and gynaecology encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format.
Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines structured medical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care.
Infant feeding Guidelines: information for health workers (2012)
From NHMRC: To assist in providing consistent advice to the general public about breastfeeding and infant feeding. Guidelines support optimum infant nutrition by providing a review of the evidence, and clear evidence-based recommendations on infant feeding for health workers.
National Antenatal Care Guidelines
In November 2010 all Health Ministers agreed to the National Maternity Services Plan which included the development of National Evidence-Based Antenatal Care Guidelines, as a priority under Action 2.1: Ensure Australian maternity services provide high-quality,evidence-based maternity care. Development of the Guidelines has been coordinated by the Australian Government in collaboration with state and territory governments.
National core maternity indicators- AIHW March 2013
This is the first report of ten national core maternity indicators for monitoring the quality of maternity care in Australia. National rates have decreased for smoking in pregnancy, episiotomy among women having their first baby and giving birth vaginally and the proportion of babies born weighing less than 2,750 grams at or after 40 weeks. However for some indicators, including induction of labour, caesarean section and instrumental vaginal birth, rates have increased and point to areas for possible further attention
Mothers and Babies statistics and publications via AIHW
"Information and statistics about the health of mothers and their babies is important for monitoring and evaluating the provision and outcomes of maternity services and care in Australia"
Expanded role for midwives recommended in report
Media interview re report below: Report recommendations include expanding Medicare and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme to include qualified midwives.
Improving maternity services in Australia
Maternity Services Review by Rosemary Bryant, Australia's Chief Nurse. Released Feb 21 2009
Assisted reproductive technology in Australia and New Zealand 2010
In 2010, there were 61,774 assisted reproductive technology (ART) treatment cycles performed in Australia and New Zealand. Of these, 23.9% resulted in a clinical pregnancy and 18.1% in a live delivery (the birth of at least one liveborn baby). There were 12,056 liveborn babies following ART treatments in 2010.