Guides: Nursing & Midwifery: Audio/Visual

Anatomy and physiology multimedia

BioDigital Human This link opens in a new window A complete, scientifically accurate, interactive 3D human anatomy platform. Instructors can customize and create content fit for purpose. Students can use the content as they see it on the platform or as customized by their instructors.Instructions: This databases requires users to register for a personal account. Select the database link on this page and login using your UniSC network username and password. Select BioDigital Human from the list and follow the instructions to register using your university email address. Use the login link and enter your UniSC email address and password as per your registration.
- This link opens in a new window

TeachMeAnatomy "Containing over 700 vibrant, full-colour images, TeachMeAnatomy is a comprehensive anatomy encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format. Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines anatomical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care"
MedPix A free Medical Image Database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine with over 53,000 indexed and curated images, from over 13,000 patients. The target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption.
Collection of image links from Dartmouth A useful set of links of possible sources of medical images for study and teaching.
Free Human Anatomy images from Injurymap For anyone anyone needing illustrations for articles, blogs, assignments, and posters. The high-quality vector images of the human anatomy are available to everyone who wants to use them, free of charge. Includes attribution information.
Openi Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

ABC Radio National Health Report Podcasts

Nursing videos from VEA via ClickView A set of Australian nursing teaching videos from VEA

Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Video collection for teaching and training on nursing and related areas. Transcripts available.
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window Short practical videos of real patients and therapists, created to inspire clinical excellence for instructors, students and clinicians in allied occupational therapy, nursing and physical therapy programs.
RealTime Health This link opens in a new window Database of video clips for online delivery and DVD library related to patient experience of a range of illnesses.

Expert in my pocket videos Expert in My Pocket is a mobile-enabled repository of learning resources that demonstrate specific skills that nursing and paramedic students must acquire to provide safe and effective health care. Recommend that you use either Google Chrome or Apple Safari for optimal mobile video performance with expertinmypocket.com.au. If using Android devices we suggest you use the QR Droid code scanner if accessing videos from QR codes.
Health Talk Online UK website sharing patients' experiences. Includes audiovisual resources. Site covers around 50 illnesses and general health topics and for each topic around 30-50 people from different backgrounds and locations share their personal experience.
Youth Health Talk A part of Health Talk Online devoted to Young peoples health
MedlinePlus- Anatomy videos Very extensive collection of high quality streaming videos from authoritative sources.
MedlinePlus- Videos of Surgical Procedures Very extensive collection of high quality videos of actual surgical procedures from authoritative sources.

Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window Online collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling. Students and scholars can see video and study counseling techniques. Includes transcripts for all videos. USC users only. Login required.
- This link opens in a new window

Medical Videos Short videos on all aspects of medicine; grouped by topic.
Videos in Clinical medicine Practical short videos from the prestigious New England Journal of Medicine