Skip to Main Content
Websites
Beyond Blue
A national, independent, not-for-profit organisation working to address issues associated with depression, anxiety and related substance misuse disorders in Australia
Mental health & well being
Australian Government site
MentalHealth.net
A lively topical site that promotes mental health and wellness education and advocacy (US site)
Health psychology and rehabilitation
Research, viewpoints and practical suggestions about the practice of health psychology in medical and rehabilitation settings.
Research Literature Databases
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing access to textbooks, journals and development tools for psychiatrists and mental health professionals. Includes the Diagnostic Standard Manual of Mental Disorders library including the DSM 5 manual. Produced by the American Psychiatric Association.
PsycNET (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycNET provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines by bringing together the PsycINFO index, PsycARTICLES, PsycTEST, PsycExtra, APA Books, and APA Handbooks. This database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Reports
Roadmap for National Mental Health Reform
The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) report released 7 December 2012. "This Roadmap outlines the direction governments will take over the next 10 years. Over recent years many governments have significantly increased their expenditure on mental health. Implementation of this Roadmap by jurisdictions will ensure this money is well spent and delivers better models of care and support for people with mental illness, thereby creating more cost-effective and sustainable interventions. It is about better targeting the existing funds where they are needed and to the right models of care."
Sick on the job? Myths and realities about mental health and work. (OECD) 2012
The costs of mental ill-health for the individuals concerned, employers and society at large are enormous. Mental illness is responsible for a very significant loss of potential labour supply, high rates of unemployment, and a high incidence of sickness absence and reduced productivity at work...
When musculoskeletal conditions and mental disorders occur together. (2010)
The disability and chronic pain due to many musculoskeletal conditions may underlie the development or exacerbation of a variety of mental disorders. The report maps the extent of their relationship in the Australian population.
Mental Health Services in Australia (AIHW)
Comprehensive webite presenting latest publications and data
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D
