Guides: Nursing & Midwifery: Clinical Guidelines

Australian clinical guidelines

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window Therapeutic Guidelines is a full text and index database with clinical guidelines for health practitioners. Includes current evidence - based treatment and care recommendations. Register for Therapeutic Guidelines App: You need to be on campus or using USC Anywhere to complete the Token Registration form. When the form is completed, you will receive an email with a token and app download instructions.

JBI EBP Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Full text and index database of evidence based practice resources in nursing and allied health science specialities. Contains Evidence Based (EB) Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.
- This link opens in a new window

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Guidelines
Queensland Health clinical guidelines and procedures
NSW Health - Nursing and Midwifery - Policy Directives & Guidelines
Multicultural Palliative Care Guidelines Authors:Andrew Taylor and Margaret Box for Palliative Care Australia
Australian College of Midwives Standards and Guidelines The Australian College of Midwives (ACM) is a national not-for-profit membership organisation and the peak professional body for midwives in Australia. Midwives should be aware of, and abide by the regulatory and professional standards and codes as set by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia and the International Confederation of Midwives. In addition the ACM has developed a number of Standards and Guidelines to aid midwives' practice.

National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE) (UK) NICE examines the evidence and makes recommendations for treatment of various conditions. The NHS must provide resources to enable health providers to provide such treatments within 3 months of NICE guideline publication. NICE makes recommendations on primary and secondary care and also publishes consumer information.
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
National Guideline Clearinghouse (US)
New Zealand Guidelines Various NZ Ministry of Health publications

Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR) The ANZCTR is an online registry of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia, New Zealand and elsewhere.
CEBM (Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine)
Epistemonikos Systemastic reviews and more harvested from multiple sources. Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.
PubMed (open access) The PMC Open Access Subset some or all openaccess content is a part of the total collection of articles in PMC. The articles in the OA Subset are made available under a Creative Commons or similar license that generally allows more liberal redistribution and reuse than a traditional copyrighted work. Please note that not all articles in the OA Subset have a CC license.

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) This link opens in a new window Evidence-based medicine resource categorised into synopses; clinical questions; systematic reviews; guidelines; patient handouts and eBooks. Most, but not all content or features are available; UniSC does not have a subscription.

Health Evidence Freely available database of quality-rated systematic reviews, and services to support the use of research evidence in public health programs, practice and policy.

Evidence-based nursing BMJ talk medicine EBN podcasts. Published quarterly, the purpose of Evidence-Based Nursing is to select from the health-related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigour of the studies are assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing. A commentary on chosen articles identifies the key findings and implications for clinical practice.

Looking for evidence to support best practice in line with the Australian National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards?

NSQHS Standards - Live Literature Searches Live searches created by ALIA's Health Libraries Australia, these PubMed searches will find articles from the last 5 years with a focus on the hospital setting.