Skip to main content
  USC logo Library  

Help searching Discover

What is Discover?

What is Discover?

Discover is a search tool that allows you to find almost everything in the USC Library collection. It includes print and online resources with links to full text. 

 

Discover searches most but not all resources in the library. Follow the links to search for these resources not available through Discover:

 

Library catalogue limits your search to print and online books, journal titles, DVDs and other material in the library collection. 

 

Journal articles limits your search to journal articles, conference papers, books reviews, book chapters and newspaper articles. Refine to peer-reviewed journals to locate peer-reviewed articles. 

 

Discover solves the problem of not knowing where to start. It retrieves material of all different kinds (books, articles, films, ebooks, etc.) on your topic and ranks the results according to relevancy for easy browsing. You can also limit your results in many ways (such as by date, language, subject, or limiting to 'peer-reviewed' journals).

 

Keep in mind ...

Discover searches most but not all things for which the library has access. Some database content may not be included.

 

 

In-depth or comprehensive research is better done in subject-specific databases.

 

USC students and staff

Discover lets you search across most of the USC Library collections, but you need to login first.

After logging in, you may choose to:

  • search everything - use Discover
  • find books - use the Catalogue
  • find journal articles - use Journal Articles
  • find readings for your Course - use Course Reserve

 

Select My Account to:

  • renew current loans
  • view historic loans
  • view holds or fines

Other Borrowers

Other borrowers may search the Catalogue and borrow from the General Collection.  You need to login to renew your loans.

 

 


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D