Skip to main content
USC logo
Library Guides

COVID-19

To ensure the health and wellbeing of our students, staff and community members, all USC Libraries will only be offering services via online chat, email, telephone and Zoom consultations.  We are however, re-opening limited access to our print collections as shown in the table below. 

Semester 2, 2020 (from Monday, 20th July 2020)

USC Caboolture Library 
Weekdays
Weekends

Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)

Collections 8am-4pm Closed
Study Space 8am-4pm Closed
USC Fraser Coast Library
Weekdays
Weekends

Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)

Collections

10am-4pm

Closed

Study Space

24hrs

24hrs

USC Gympie Library
Weekdays
Weekends

Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)

Collections

8.30am-4.30pm

Closed

Study Space

8.30am-4.30pm

Closed

USC Moreton Bay
Weekdays
Weekends

Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)

Collections

10am-4pm

Closed

Study Space

24hrs

24hrs

USC Sunshine Coast 
Weekdays
Weekends

Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)

Collections

General Collection (by request* only)

*If the item is available at time of requesting, please allow two working days for your request to be processed and the item made available for you

Reserve Collection (10am-4pm)

Closed

Study Space

Level 1 (10am-4pm)

Ground Floor (24hrs)

 

Ground Floor (24hrs)

USC Southbank
Weekdays
Weekends
Library Help

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (8.30am-5.45pm)

Zoom consultations (10am-4pm)

Online Chat, Email & Phone only (10am-2pm)
Collections

Closed*

*Returns can be arranged by contacting USC Southbank directly 

Closed
Study Space Closed Closed

Library services

  • USC Library service points will not be available face-to-face on-campus. We are available to chat online, or alternatively you may like to email LibraryHelp@usc.edu.au or call +61 7 5430 2804 to speak with a USC Library staff member. 
  • Binding and laminating items are temporarily unavailable for ordering.

Borrowing enquiries 

Research enquiries

Library collections

Online collections

  • The online library collections continue to remain available online, in many instances we have increased access to eBook collections. 

Print collections

All USC Libraries will reopen access to print collections in a limited capacity for Semester 2, 2020. However, we encourage staff and students to use the following requesting options so that we can best assist you with your information needs: 

  • Click and Collect: Requests can be made online to borrow physical books from the General or 3-Day-Loan Collections. Items may be requested to be sent to any USC Library location for collection. 
    • Login and search for the item in the Library Catalogue. Select the Click and Collect request option. 
    • We will then email you when the item is ready for you to collect along with the collection location.  If you are unable to come onto campus to collect your item due to COVID19 concerns, please contact us directly to alternative options to deliver your item to you
    • If the item is available on the library shelf at time of requesting, please allow up to two working days for your request to be processed. If your request is urgent, please submit your request online and then contact the Library directly to discuss how we may be able to fulfil your request sooner. 
      • Please watch this video for more information on how to place a Click and Collect request.
  • Request a digitisation: USC Library can supply you with a PDF of a single chapter, or up to a maximum of 10% of a book, if the item is on the shelf at the time of requesting. 
    • Simply login and search for the item in the Library Catalogue. Select the Digitisation request option. 
    • You MUST specify the chapter or page ranges you require. All requests must be within copyright limits. 
    • If the item is on the Library shelf at time of requesting, please allow up to two working days for your request to be processed.
  • High demand items: A small selection of high demand items are now available in designated areas at each USC Library.  These items are ‘Not for loan’ and are explicitly for use in the designated area. 
    • At USC Sunshine Coast, USC Fraser Coast and USC Moreton Bay, items are available in the 24/7 Library Study Spaces. 
    • At USC Caboolture and USC Gympie, items are available from 9am-4pm weekdays in the Library spaces. 
  • Document delivery (please see eligibility) is dependent upon supply from other libraries. Where possible we will endeavour to supply electronic articles and book chapters.

 'Social distance' in 24hr spaces

As per current Government advice the Library is enacting 'social distance' in all 24hr spaces by:

  • creating greater distance between student PCs

We have not made these changes lightly, knowing that our Library collections and services are a highly used resource of the University. Please let us know if there is anything more that we can do to help. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this challenging time. 

 

Further information

FAQ's

Access to Library print collections is limited. We recommend using the Click and Collect service for loans from the General or 3-Day-Loan Collections. If you only require one chapter of a book, or 10% of the total number of pages, we recommend requesting a digitisation which we will email the PDF to you.

Yes you can, after hours return chutes are available at all locations with the exception of USC Gympie Library where returns can only be accepted during open hours. USC Southbank returns can be made by contacting USC Southbank directly to arrange.

Yes you can, Simply use the Click and Collect request option, and select your preferred campus for collection.

You can view your renew options and check the due date of your loan at any time by logging into My Library Account.

Due to the increased demand on our print collections due to the commencement of Semester 2, we need to ensure that you return your items by the due date. However, please contact us directly if you wish to discuss any issue you may have returning items.

For prescribed or recommended course readings we are working with our publishers and vendors to see if an eBook version is available for purchase. However, if you only require one chapter of a book, or 10% of the total number of pages, you can request a digitisation and we can email the PDF to you.

Absolutely. You can chat with us online during our extended chat operating hours. You can also contact us via email or telephone 5430 2804 if you prefer to chat with us in person.  

You are able to access printers on campus in the usual locations, unless otherwise directed. The printers located in the after-hours spaces will still be available.

All campuses with the exception of USC Caboolture and USC Gympie have after-hours accessible study spaces. All after-hours study spaces are signposted and accessible via swipe card.

From the Library Catalogue, search for the book/item. Select the correct title and scroll to the book Details. Check the Contents field for the chapter details. If there is a chapter number listed, provide this in your Digitisation request. If only chapter titles are listed, provide the title of the chapter you require. For further help, contact the Library via chat or email.

Due to restricted library access, borrowing and membership applications from Community, Reciprocal and school members cannot be accommodated at this time.


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D