Skip to main content
USC logo
Library Guides

Forest Management

FIRC TFPRC NCTDDL

Forestry at the University of the Sunshine Coast

Forestry at USC consists of: Forest Industries Research Centre (FIRC), Tropical Forests and People Research Centre (TFPRC), as well as the Brisbane-based National Centre for Timber Durability and Design Life (NCTDDL). There are no coursework degrees currently offered.

This guide has been created to connect the USC Library to the teams of researchers in our three forestry-based research centres. The content is to communicate what resources the Library already has in place, plus a list of relevant websites.

The HDR checklist is designed to remind research students of some of the tasks they should consider completing as part of their researcher training.

USC Library Collections

USC Research Bank

USC Research Bank is the official repository of USC publications.

The Google search algorithm favours repository results and will put them towards the top of a search results list.

You should ensure that all of your publications are entered into the database: http://research.usc.edu.au

USC Herbarium

The USC Herbarium collection forms the basis for a reference collection of plants growing in our region and provides a significant resource for the University of the Sunshine Coast and regional community. Work conducted on the collation and recording of this collection is being undertaken by USC staff and students.

 

The collection consists of around 10,000 plant specimens, some dating back to the 1940s, and provides a valuable historical record of plant distributions. It also includes plant specimens donated by the Queensland Forestry Research Institute.

 

The Herbarium is being digitized and uploaded to the Virtual Herbarium which complements the existing physical collection, making it more accessible to the community.

 

The physical Herbarium is located on Level 1 of the USC Sunshine Coast Library in a purpose-designed room. The Virtual Herbarium can also be found through Research Data Australia.

USC Research Guides series

Image of the Research Library Guides directory

Librarian

Liaison Librarian-Business, Public Health, and Forestry

Photo of Courtney Moran

Courtney E. Moran

MAppSci(Lib&InfoMgmt), BSocSci, AALIA (CP) Health

My role is to help the USC Australia business and public health students learn how to use the USC Library and its online collections.

EMBA and other Study Tour students have access to one on one appointments with me to discuss search strategy and locate information.

Contact

Tel: +61 7 5459 4405
email: cmoran@usc.edu.au

© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D