UniSC Herbarium Collection

Conditions of Access

Access to the Herbarium is via appointment only on weekdays. Please use the Access Request form below to arrange a suitable appointment time. Allow for 2 working days notice.

Some collections have specific conditions, usually at the request of the donor.  

Unless otherwise stated, the following conditions apply to accessing the UniSC Herbarium Collection:

• Herbarium material is available for use by students and staff of the University, and by members of the public, on production of adequate identification, for the purpose of plant study or identification.
• The Library reserves the right to keep records of usage of the Collections.
• To access Herbarium material, please complete the Onsite Access form in advance and indicate the purpose of your request.  There may be a delay if you do not request access in advance.  
• Herbarium material may not leave the Herbarium room.
• No food or drink is to be taken into the Herbarium room.
• Only writing material is to be taken into the Herbarium room.
• Do not touch the specimens directly.  
• All Herbarium material must be returned to the box and shelving location from where it is was taken.
• Acknowledgment of the UniSC Research Collections must be made in all publications using material from any collection material.

Note that the Herbarium collection is progressively being digitised, and will shortly be available online.

For more information on conditions of access, please contact research-repository@usc.edu.au

Copyright Information

Copyright is a legal right that gives copyright owners in works the right to control certain activities with respect to the works. UniSC Research Collection material contains rare and unique works, often with a mix of published and unpublished works.  This means that the copyright status can vary.  In order to facilitate access, copying and publishing, donors of special collection material are asked to enter into an agreement with UniSC which sets out agreed conditions under which users can use the works.  UniSC Library Staff refer to these agreements when determining how you may use works in a particular collection.

Copyright Infringement Notification

We have made every reasonable effort to ensure that works included in UniSC Research Collections are either free of copyright or that copyright permissions have been obtained.

If you believe that the inclusion of a work in a UniSC Research Collection constitutes copyright infringement or a breach of an agreed license or contract, please contact research-repository@usc.edu.au providing sufficient information for our investigation and response.