Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Datasets & Maps

Finding datasets

Queensland Spatial Catalogue This service is a Queensland Government initiative to provide improved public access to a variety of spatial and associated data. You can discover, display, select and download or order data over an area of interest in selected formats, including map coverage data, image data and text file data.
Qld Dept of Natural Resources and Mines- Mapping and Data Large array of data sources
ABS Census Datapacks Register and login to download the datapacks.
Data.gov.au A collection of datasets from the Australian Government for access and reuse.
Research Data Australia
National Map Map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies.
Geoscience Australia - Digital topographic data
CSIRO Data Access Portal The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
OzCoasts OzCoasts provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact.
ArcGIS Open Data Explore more than 30,00 different datasets from 3,500 organisations worldwide.

OECD This link opens in a new window The Organization for Economic Cooperation Development (OECD) online library is a multidisciplinary full text database containing eBooks, articles, and data on OECD member nations. Coverage includes business indicators, education, development, environment, health, as well as science and technology. The online library also has the annual publication OECD Factbook.