Guides: Forest Management: Journals & Databases

Related Journals

Annals of Forest Research
Australasian Journal of Environmental Management
Quarterly publication focusing on the "general issues of policy and practice in resource and environmental management". Australian, New Zealand, international. Double-blind peer-reviewed.
Australian forestry
Institute of Foresters of Australia publication. Covers articles on the management and use of Australian forest productions internationally. Peer-reviewed
Land Use Policy
"Land Use Policy is an international and interdisciplinary journal concerned with the social, economic, political, legal, physical and planning aspects of urban and rural land use" ScienceDirect, 2016.
Southern Forests
"The journal publishes scientific articles in forest science and management of fast-growing, planted or natural forests in the Southern Hemisphere and the tropics" Taylor and Francis, 2016. Supported by the Southern African Institute of Forestry.

What is a DOI?

DOI (Digital Object Identifier):

A permanent internet address for a journal article etc
Not used by all journals
When used it is found
- on the first page of the article
- sometimes in a citation. Eg APA:

Bugg, J. M., DeLosh, E. L., & McDaniel, M. A. (2008). Improving students' study habits by demonstrating the mnemonic benefits of semantic processing. Teaching of Psychology, 35(2), 96-98. doi: 10.1080/00986280801977519

DOI resolver:

Create a weblink from a DOI

Forestry Databases

AGRICOLA
AGRICultural OnLine Access (AGRICOLA) is a bibliographic database created by the National Agricultural Library (US). Contains citations of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Scopus
The largest multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, books, journals, online tools, bibliographic databases and newsletters relevant to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Provides tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary collection of full text and citation index databases including scholarly journals, books, book series, reports and conferences. Provides Citation Indexes such as Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Chemical Indexes.
For effective searching use “quotation marks” around each search term, including single words.
PlantwisePlus Knowledge Bank (CABI)
A global plant protection knowledge bank including diagnostic and other tools related to plant pests and diseases. A CABI initiative.

UniSC Databases

Find databases by name, subject or type.
Read the database description to find a relevant database.
Some databases provide tutorials (Hint: look for the help icon).
Database search tutorials may be presented by a librarian in your course.