Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo
Library Guides

Research Output Reporting

Information on USC reportable publication schemes.

A1 - Authored Book (Research)

Definition

To be included in this category, the publication must meet the definition of research and must meet the Evidence of Excellence criteria below. 

 

The types of books that may meet the criteria include:

  • critical scholarly texts (e.g. music, medieval or classical texts)
  • new interpretations of historical events
  • new ideas or perspectives based on established research findings
  • freely available research-related reports published by external institutes or public agencies and departments.

 

The types of books that do not meet the criteria include:

  • textbooks (possibly A2 / A2Ext)
  • anthologies (possibly A2 / A2Ext)
  • edited books (possibly A4 / A4Ext)
  • creative works such as novels (possibly J3 / J3Ext)
  • translations (unless they have a major demonstrable original research component) (possibly A2 / A2Ext)
  • revisions or new editions (unless they constitute substantial new knowledge and constitutes original research) (possibly A3 / A3Ext)
  • manuals and handbooks (possibly A2 / A2Ext)
  • theses (PhD, Masters and Honours) (possibly T1 / T1Ext).

Evidence of Excellence

Evidence of excellence includes:

  • must be a major work of scholarship
  • mainly previously unpublished material, making a substantial contribution to knowledge
  • must have an ISBN
  • must be offered for sale
  • must be written entirely by a single author, or by joint authors who share responsibility for the whole book
  • must have been published by a commercial publisher, or if not published by a commercial publisher, must have been peer reviewed.

Evidence of Peer Review

An acceptable peer review process is one that involves impartial and independent assessment or review of the research publication in its entirety before publication, conducted by independent, qualified experts. Independent in this context means independent of the author.

 

For books that are not published by a commercial publisher any of the following are acceptable as evidence of peer review:

  • a statement in the book which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a statement or acknowledgement from the publisher or editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a copy of a reviewer’s assessment relating to the book.

Standard Output

Not applicable.

Major Output

Authored books are a weighted publication category.  All authored books in the A1 category are weighted 5:1 compared with the other research publication categories.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • proof that the book was published by a commercial publisher or of peer review
  • contents, preface and introduction, and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution).
Category Code Definition
A1 Authored book meeting RPDC requirements, done at USC
A1Ext Authored book meeting RPDC requirements, not done at USC

 

A2 - Authored Book (Not Scholarly)

Definition

A book authored in its entirety by the author or authors, but does not meet the criteria for a scholarly research book.

 

The types of books that may meet this criteria include:

  • textbooks
  • guidelines
  • booklets
  • manuals
  • reprints of previously published books
  • books not published by a commercial publisher or peer reviewed
  • books that do not meet the definition of research, and are not revised or new editions

 

The types of books that do not meet the criteria include:

  • edited books (possibly A4 / A4Ext)
  • creative published books (possibly J3 / J3Ext)
  • working papers, technical reports, discussion papers (possibly O1)
  • reports (possibly K1 / K1Ext / K1n)
  • revisions or new editions that do not involve substantial new research (possibly A3 / A3Ext)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • proof that the book was published
  • contents, preface and introduction, and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution).
Category Code Definition
A2 Authored book not RPDC eligible, done at USC
A2Ext Authored book not RPDC eligible, not done at USC

 

A3 - Authored Book (Revision or New Edition)

Definition

This category is used for revised editions or new editions of authored books.  The book must have been previously published by either the current author or some previous author. 

 

The types of books that may meet this criteria include:

  • new editions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions
  • revisions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions
  • updates to previous editions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions

 

The types of books that may not meet the criteria include:

  • revised editions that have subtantially new research (possibly A1 / A1Ext)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • proof that the book was published
  • contents, preface and introduction, and pages showing all bibliographic information of the new edition (ISBN, title, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • table of contents from both new edition and previous edition.
Category Code Definition
A3 Authored book revision or new edition, done at USC
A3Ext Authored book revision or new edition, not done at USC

 

A4 - Edited Book

Definition

This category is used for editors of a book consisting of contributions from a number of authors.

 

The types of books that do not meet the criteria include:

  • edited journal issues (possibly C4)
  • edited conference proceedings (possibly E4)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • proof that the book was published
  • contents, preface and introduction, and pages showing all bibliographic information of the new edition (ISBN, title, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • table of contents
Category Code Definition
A4 Edited book, done at USC
A4Ext Edited book, not done at USC

 

B1 - Book Chapter (Research)

Definition

This category refers to a contribution consisting of substantially new material, to an edited compilation in which the material is subject to editorial scrutiny.  To be included in this category, the publication must meet the definition of research and must meet the Evidence of Excellence criteria below.

 

The types of book chapters that may meet the criteria include:

  • a scholarly introduction of chapter length to an edited volume, where the content of the introduction reports research and makes a substantial contribution to a defined area of knowledge
  • a critical scholarly text of chapter length, e.g. in music, medieval or classical texts
  • critical reviews of current research.

 

Unless they meet all of the criteria for inclusion, the following book chapters must be excluded:

  • chapters in textbooks (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • entries in reference books (possibly D1 / D1Ext)
  • anthologies (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • revisions of chapters in edited books (unless they constitute substantial new knowledge and constitutes original research) (possibly B3 / B3Ext)
  • forewords (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • brief introductions (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • brief editorials (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • appendices (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • literary or creative pieces such as collections of short stories (possibly J3 / J3Ext)
  • translations (unless they have a major demonstrable original research component) (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • case studies (possibly B2 / B2Ext)
  • encyclopaedia entries (possibly  D1 / D1Ext).

Evidence of Excellence

Evidence of excellence includes:

  • must be a major work of scholarship
  • must have an International Standard Book Number (ISBN)
  • must have been published by a commercial publisher, or if not published by a commercial publisher, must have been peer reviewed.

Evidence of Peer Review

An acceptable peer review process is one that involves impartial and independent assessment or review of the research publication in its entirety before publication, conducted by independent, qualified experts. Independent in this context means independent of the author.

 

For books that are not published by a commercial publisher any of the following are acceptable as evidence of peer review:

  • a statement in the book which shows that contributions are peer reviewed and in the case of book chapters, which indicates which chapters are peer reviewed, if this does not apply to all content
  • a statement or acknowledgement from the publisher or editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a copy of a reviewer’s assessment relating to the book chapter

Standard Output

Book chapters (research) are standard outputs.

Major Output

Not applicable.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the chapter
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • if new chapter in revised edition, include also contents of previous edition if preface does not indicate that chapter is new
  • proof that the book was published by a commercial publisher or of peer review.
Category Code Definition
B1 Book chapter (research), done at USC
B1Ext Book chapter (research), not done at USC

 

B2 - Book Chapter (Not Scholarly)

Definition

This category refers to a contribution consisting of substantially new material, to an edited compilation in which the material is subject to editorial scrutiny, but does not meet the criteria for a scholarly book chapter.

 

The types of book chapters that may meet the criteria include:

  • chapters in textbooks
  • anthologies
  • forewards
  • brief introductions
  • brief editorials
  • appendices
  • translations (unless they have a major demonstrable original research component) 
  • case studies
  • scholarly chapters in books not published by a commercial publisher and not peer reviewed
  • chapters in a report or government department publication that are not published by a commercial publisher and which appear in book format rather than report format

 

Unless they meet all of the criteria for inclusion, the following book chapters do not meet the criteria:

  • entries in reference books (possibly D1 / D1Ext)
  • revisions of chapters in edited books (unless they constitute substantial new knowledge and constitutes original research) (possibly B3 / B3Ext)
  • literary or creative pieces such as collections of short stories (possibly J3 / J3Ext)
  • encyclopedia entries (possibly D1 / D1Ext).

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • the chapter
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • if new chapter in revised edition, include also contents of previous edition if preface does not indicate that chapter is new
Category Code Definition
B2 Book chapters not RPDC eligible, done at USC
B2Ext Book chapters not RPDC eligible, not done at USC

 

B3 - Book Chapter (Revision or New Edition)

Definition

This category is for use for revised editions or new editions of chapters in an edited book.  The book must have been previously published by either the current editors or some previous editor. 

 

The types of book chapters that may meet this criteria include:

  • new editions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions
  • revisions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions
  • updates to previous editions that do not involve substantial additions or revisions

 

The types of book chapters that do not meet the criteria include:

  • revised editions that have substantially new research (possibly B1 / B1Ext)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • the chapter
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • if new chapter in revised edition, include also contents of previous edition if preface does not indicate that chapter is new
Category Code Definition
B3 Book chapter revision or new edition, done at USC
B3Ext Book chapter revision or new edition, not done at USC

 

C1 - Journal Article (Scholarly Refereed)

Definition

To be included in this category, the publication must meet the definition of research and must meet the Evidence of Excellence criteria below.

 

The types of journal articles that may meet the criteria include:

  • commentaries and communications of original research
  • research notes
  • letters to journals, provided that the letter satisfies the definition of research and the requirements for journal articles in this section
  • critical scholarly texts which appear in article form
  • articles reviewing multiple works or an entire field of research
  • invited papers in journals
  • articles in journals which are targeted to both scholars and professionals
  • articles in a stand-alone series.

 

The types of journal articles that do not meet the criteria include:

  • letters to the editor (possibly C3 / C3Ext)
  • case studies (possibly C2 / C3 / C3Ext / C2Ext )
  • articles designed to inform practitioners on existing knowledge in a professional field (possibly C2 / C3 / C2Ext / C3Ext)
  • articles in newspapers and popular magazines (possibly C3 / C3Ext / N1 / N1Ext)
  • editorials (possibly C3 / C3Ext)
  • book reviews (possibly C3 / C3Ext)
  • brief commentaries and communications of original research (possibly C2 / C3 / C2Ext / C3Ext)
  • reviews of art exhibitions, concerts, theatre productions (possibly C3 / J3 / C3Ext / J3Ext).

Evidence of Excellence

Evidence of excellence includes:

  • must be published in a scholarly journal
  • must have been peer reviewed
  • must have an ISSN (Note: Some journals may be regularly published as separate volumes with an ISBN rather than an ISSN. Provided that the publication is clearly identified as an edition of a journal, and not a book, articles in such publications may be eligible if they meet all other criteria)

Evidence of Peer Review

An acceptable peer review process is one that involves an assessment or review, before publication, of the research output in its entirety by independent, qualified experts.

 

The term 'independent' in this context means independent of the author.  A statement from an author that a research output was peer reviewed is not sufficient evidence.

 

For journal articles, the following are acceptable as evidence for peer review:

  • listing on the ARC's Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) latest available journal list
  • classification as 'refereed' in the Ulrich's Knowledgebase
  • listing in Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge Master Journal list
  • a statement in the journal which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a statement or acknowledgement from the journal editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed
  • a copy of a reviewer's assessment relating to the article.

Standard Output

Journal articles (research) are a standard output type.

Major Output

Not applicable

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the article
  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
  • proof of peer review
Category Code Definition
C1 Journal article meeting RPDC requirements, done at USC
C1Ext Journal article meeting RPDC requirements, not done at USC

 

C2 - Journal Article (Non-Refereed, Scholarly Journal)

Definition

This category incudes journal articles in scholarly refereed publications that are not refereed.

 

The types of journal articles that may meet the criteria include:

  • non-refereed journal articles
  • case studies that are not refereed
  • invited commentaries that are not refereed
  • articles designed to inform practitioners on existing knowledge in a professional field
  • brief commentaries and communications of original research

 

The types of journal articles that may not meet the criteria include:

  • book reviews (possibly C3 / C3Ext)
  • editorials (possibly C3 / C3Ext)
  • letters (possibly C3 / C3Ext)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • the article
  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
Category Code Definition
C2 Non-refereed article in scholarly journal, done at USC
C2Ext Non-refereed article in scholarly journal, not done at USC

 

C3 - Journal Articles (Other Articles)

Definition

This category may includes:

  • letters to the editor
  • book reviews
  • editorials that do not meet the eligibility criteria for C1 journal articles
  • refereed non-scholarly articles
  • articles in journals without an ISSN
  • short contributions (less than a page long)

 

Types of articles that may not be included are:

  • articles in newspapers and newsletters (possibly N1 / N1Ext)

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • the article
  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
Category Code Definition
C3 Non-scholarly journal articles, done at USC
C3Ext Non-scholarly journal articles, not done at USC

 

C4 - Edited Journal Issue

Definition

This category includes where the author is responsible for editing a complete journal issue.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
  • page showing editorials credit
Category Code Definition
C4 Edited journal issue, done at USC
C4Ext Edited journal issue, not done at USC

 

C5 - Editorial or Letter in Journal Issue

Definition

This category includes editorials and letters within a journal issue.

  • Editorials can be defined as work consisting of a statement of the opinions, beliefs, and policy of the editor or publisher of a journal.
  • Letters can be defined as work addressed to the editor / editorial office, and comments on or discusses an article published earlier in the periodical, or is of interest to a specific readership.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
  • the editorial or letter
Category Code Definition
C5 Editorial or letter within a journal issue, done at USC
C5Ext Editorial or letter within a journal issue, not done at USC

 

C6 - Book Reviews in Journal Issue

Definition

This category includes a written review and critical analysis of the content, scope and quality of a book or other monographic work, published in a Journal Issue. 

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • pages showing all bibliographic information (journal title, ISSN, dates where not provided in the article or offprint)
  • the book review
Category Code Definition
C6 Book review in a journal issue, done at USC
C6Ext Book review in a journal issue, not done at USC

 

D1 - Reference Works

Definition

This category is used to claim for research contributions to publications such as a dictionary or encyclopaedia.

 

The types of reference works that may be include are:

  • entire reference works written solely by the author/s
  • single author/s contribution to an edited reference work
  • series of contributions to different sections of an edited reference work
  • revisions/editions of previously published reference works

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • the chapter (if a book section)
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, all dates referring to copyright, publication, printing, distribution)
  • table of contents showing all chapters/sections and page numbers
  • if new chapter in revised edition, include also contents of previous edition if preface does not indicate that chapter is new
  • proof that the book was published by a commercial publisher or of peer review.
Category Code Definition
D1 Reference work, done at USC
D1Ext Reference work, not done at USC

 

E1 - Conference Paper (Scholarly, Refereed)

Definition

To be included in this category, the publication must meet the definition of research and must meet the Evidence of Excellence criteria below.

 

To be eligible, a conference paper must have been:

  • presented at a conference, workshop or seminar of national or international significance
  • peer reviewed
  • published in full (the publication may appear in a number of different formats, e.g. a volume of proceedings, a special edition of a journal, a normal issue of a journal, a book, digitally on the conference or organisational website).

 

The types of conference publications that do not meet the criteria include:

  • papers that appear only in a volume handed out to conference participants (possibly E2 / E2Ext)
  • keynote addresses (possibly E5 / E5Ext)
  • plenary addresses (possibly E5 / E5Ext)
  • poster presentations (possibly E5 / E5Ext)
  • abstracts of conference publications (possibly E3 / E3Ext).

Evidence of Excellence

Evidence of excellence would include:

  • be published in full. The papers may appear in any format, e.g. a volume of proceedings, a special edition of a journal, a normal issue of a journal, a book or a monograph, CD or conference or organisational web site

  • be peer reviewed

  • be presented at conferences, workshops or seminars of national or international significance

Evidence of Peer Review

An acceptable peer review process is one that involves an assessment or review, before publication, of the research output in its entirety by independent, qualified experts.

 

The term 'independent' in this context means independent of the author.  A statement from an author that a research output was peer reviewed is not sufficient evidence.

 

For conference papers, the following are acceptable as evidence for peer review:

  • a statement in the conference proceedings which shows that contributions are peer reviewed

  • a statement or acknowledgement from the conference proceedings editor which shows that contributions are peer reviewed

  • a copy of a reviewer’s assessment relating to the conference paper.

Standard Output

Conference papers are a standard output type.

Major Output

Not applicable.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the full paper
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all relevant bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, dates)
  • proof of peer review
  • proof that the conference is of national or international significance
Category Code Definition
E1 Conference paper meeting RPDC requirements, done at USC
E1Ext Conference paper meeting RPDC requirements, not done at USC

 

E2 - Conference Paper (Full Paper, Non-Eligible)

Definition

This category includes papers that were delivered at a conference and may have been:

  • full conference papers where no refereeing process was employed
  • full conference papers that where not refereed in full (only the abstract may have been refereed)
  • full conference papers that were not published in the proceedings (but may have been refereed)
  • full conference papers that were not in publicly available proceedings (i.e. proceedings only available to delegates or on a restricted website)
  • full conference papers where the conference is of local or state significance

 

The conference may be of local, state, national or international significance.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the full paper
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all relevant bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, dates)
  • proof of peer review (if applicable)
Category Code Definition
E2 Conference paper not eligible for RPDC, done at USC
E2Ext Conference paper not eligible for RPDC, not done at USC

 

E3 - Conference Abstract (Published)

Definition

Conference abstracts that have been published in the conference proceedings.  The abstract may or may not have been assessed by a formal peer review process. 

 

The conference may be of local, state, national or international significance.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the abstract
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all relevant bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, dates)
  • proof of peer review (if applicable)
Category Code Definition
C3 Conference abstract published, done at USC
C3Ext Conference abstract published, not done at USC

 

E4 - Edited Conference Proceedings

Definition

Where the author is an editor of a published conference proceedings.  

Conference proceedings is the official record of a conference meeting. It is a collection of documents which corresponds to the presentations given at the conference. It may include additional content.

 

The conference may be of local, state, national or international significance.

The papers within the proceedings may or may not have been assessed by a formal peer review process. 

Verification Material

Verification material that must be provided includes:

  • pages showing all relevant bibliographic information (ISBN or ISSN, title, editor, authors, publisher, dates)
  • page showing editorials credit
Category Code Definition
E4 Edited conference proceedings, done at USC
E4Ext Edited conference proceedings, not done at USC

 

E5 - Conference Item (Not Meeting Other Criteria)

Definition

Conference items not meeting other criteria, and may include:

  • presentations
  • keynote presentations
  • posters
  • workshops. 

 

These conference items may or may not have been assessed by a formal peer review process, and may or may not have been published in the conference proceedings. 

 

The conference may be of local, state, national or international significance.

Verification Material

Verification material that must be able to be provided for government reporting upon request includes:

  • the presentation, abstract or paper
  • contents, preface and introduction and pages showing all relevant bibliographic information (ISBN, title, editor, authors, publisher, dates)
  • proof of peer review (if applicable)
Category Code Definition
E5 Conference item not meeting other criteria, done at USC
E5Ext Conference item not meeting other criteria, not done at USC

 

F1 - Audiovisual Material

Definition

This category includes audiovisual outputs including:

  • documentaries
  • webinars
  • podcasts
  • non-creative works.

 

Outputs that may not meet this definition include:

  • audiovisual that are considered a creative work (possibly J9 / J9Ext)
Category Code Definition
F1 Audiovisual material, done at USC
F1Ext Audiovisual material, not done at USC

 

G - Software (Computer Program)

Definition

A computer program in source code (text) or compiled form.

This category refers to innovative software products of commercial quality and offered for sale or distributed as Shareware through a recognised publisher or distributor.

Category Code Definition
G1 Computer program, innovative, commercial, done at USC
G1Ext Computer program, innovative, commercial, not done at USC
G2 Computer program, not commercial

 

I - Invention

Definition

This category refers to full patents (or equivalent) on specific products or processes granted for the first time, either in Australia or in an overseas country. 

 

This types of outputs that may meet this criteria include:

  • plant breeder rights
  • a product or process for which a full patent has been granted
  • provisional patents

 

The types of outputs that may not meet this criteria include:

  • applications for which no determination has been made on patent rights
  • multiple rights for the same product or process
  • patents that have been published but not granted
Category Code Definition
I1 Granted patent
I4 Published patent
I5 Provisional patent
I6 Plant breeders rights
I7 Registered design
I8 NHMRC endorsed guidelines

 

M1 - Map

Definition

This category is defined as a representation normally to scale and on a flat medium, of a selection of material or abstract features on, or in relation to, the surface of the earth or of another celestial body.

Category Code Definition
M1 Map
M1Ext Map, not while at USC

 

N1 - Newsletter, Newspaper or Magazine Item

Definition

This category may include:

  • Newsletters or newsletter sections written in full by the author/s, generally referring to serial publications containing news and information of interest to the general public or to a special group
  • Newspaper article are news items appearing in a general-interest newspaper or other general news periodical, containing information of current and timely interest in a field
  • Magazine article consist of an article appearing in a periodical, containing information on current and timely interest in a field, targeted to a specific audience.
Category Code Definition
N1 Newsletter or newspaper item, done at USC
N1Ext Newsletter or newspaper item, not done at USC

 

O1 - Other Output Not Otherwise Defined

Definition

This category includes:

  • working papers
  • unpublished works
  • project summaries
  • discussion papers
  • seminars
  • blogs
  • commentaries
  • annotations
Category Code Definition
O1 Other output not otherwise defined, done at USC
O1Ext Other output not otherwise defined, not done at USC

 

P - Translation

Definition

Translations of books and articles that identify modifications to the original edition, such as a new or revised preface.

Category Code Definition
P1 Translation, substantial critical commentary
P2 Translation, minimal critical commentary
P5 Translation not meeting other criteria

 

X - Externally Authored Publications

Definition

All externally authored publications, published by USC

Category Code Definition
X All externally authored publications, published by USC

 


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D