Guides: International Law: Canada

Primary and Secondary Sources - Canada

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute
Free access to federal and provincial cases and legislation.
Government of Canada
Primary access point for Canadian government information.
Parliament of Canada
Department of Justice - Justice Laws
Legislation.
Supreme Court of Canada
Canadian Federal Legislation
Includes Acts, Bills and Regulations.
Canada Treaty Information
Maintained by the Treaty Section of Canada's Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.
Federal Court of Canada decisions
Searchable full text of published decisions from 1992. Includes recent unpublished decisions.
Law Central Canada
Canadian primary legal materials, such as statutes, cases and regulations.
Canada Gazette
The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada and has been published since 1841. It contains formal public notices, official appointments, proposed regulations, regulations and public Acts of Parliament from government departments and agencies.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Index database of primary and secondary US, UK and European Union legal materials. Also includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, law journals, newspaper and magazine articles and public records.

Doing Legal Research in Canada
LLRX.com guide by Ted Tjaden
Best guide to Canadian legal research
Tips for researching Canadian and other countries laws, such as the United States, United Kingdom and the European Union
Bora Laskin Law Library: How to Locate Canadian Legislation
by Susan Barker. Provides easy access to online sources of Canadian federal and provincial statutes, regulations, bills and debates in legislative assemblies.
American Law Sources On-line
Maintained by LawSource Inc. A comprehensive collection of links to free online sources of US and Canadian law. Includes an outline of the US legal system
Canadian Judicial System
From the Supreme Court of Canada.
Guide to the Canadian Court System
From the Department of Justice.
Legaltree
Collaboratively built website with legal research resources maintained by the site administrators, and legal literature contributed by lawyers in the Canadian legal community.
Uniform Law Conference of Canada
The Uniform Law Conference of Canada also makes recommendations for changes to federal criminal legislation based on identified deficiencies, defects or gaps in the existing law, or based on problems created by judicial interpretation of existing law.