Guides: International Law: United States

Primary and Secondary Sources - United States

LII Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School
Free access to US case law and legislation.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for US federal legislative information.
Treaties in Force (TIF)
U.S. House of Representatives
Information about issues currently being debated, and bills and amendments.
U.S. House of Representatives
Information about issues currently being debated, and bills and amendments.
U.S. Senate
Clearinghouse of Senate information on the Web and guides to resources in libraries and archives.
Office of the Law Revision Counsel
Prepares and publishes the United States Code.
GPO Access
Provides links to United States Code, Congressional Bills, Documents, Reports, Public and Private Laws
Supreme Court Cases
Part of FindLaw. A searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text databases including law journals, US Reports, famous world trials, United Nations and League of Nations Treaty series, historical case law and other materials, Code of Federal Regulations (from inception to 1938), Federal Register (from inception to 1936).

Legal Opinions - Google Scholar
Full text of legal opinions from US federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts.
The Avalon Project
Historical documents, laws and other materials from 122 B.C. to 2001. Includes American diplomacy 1778 to the present; bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements, cold war diplomacy; defence treaties of the United States; slavery treaties, agreements and other documents and the laws of war, treaties, conventions, agreements.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive for US case law and legislation, with access to a large number of treatises and journal articles. KeyCite case citator.

American Law Sources On-line
Maintained by LawSource Inc. A comprehensive collection of links to free online sources of US and Canadian law. Includes an outline of the US legal system
Georgetown Law Library - Legal Research
Guide to Law Online
A Law Library of Congress annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online
A Guide to the U. S. Federal Legal System
By Gretchen Feltes. Web-based Public Accessible Sources
Law Library of Congress: US
An annotated compendium of internet sources on the US aimed at legal researchers. Emphasis is on sites offering the full text of laws, regulations and court decisions.
Legislative Research Guide
Links to US federal, state and political websites provided on the LLRX.com site.
LLRX Comparative and Foreign Law Guides
Articles, research guides and other resources for researching the law in various countries and regions of the world.
United States Legal Research
University of Chicago, D'Angelo Law Library
U.S. Government
A portal to all things to do with the United States Government
White House
Information about the current president and the U.S. government.