Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo

Science Honours

Library and information resources to kick-start your research career

Databases

Databases index the scholarly literature. 

Journals are the most important type of literature in science but, conferences, books and book  chapters are also important.

This page shows the most important databases for scientists.

Databases of the literature

Major science databases are listed under dotpoints below. Some content overlaps, but you need to use multiple databases for optimal results.

More specialized databases in specific disciplines can be found in the Library Guide for that discipline: e.g.:

GIS (including datasets and software)

Chemistry (including laboratory methods)

Mathematics and Statistics

Publisher platforms

Some science publishers have very good platforms you should get to know. There are many but here are some particularly important ones.

HNE420 Databases presentation Sem 1 2022

Database features

SCOPUS

Our biggest scholarly database, covers all subjects. Also books and conferences. Many features for researchers = Keep and re-edit searches; set alerts (3 types); “snowballing” and related references. The BEST database to use with Endnote.

Sign up for a Scopus account (and WoS and others if you wish) to save searches, make alerts etc.

This is your main database. Pubmed is also useful for some researchers, but its content is covered by Scopus.

WEB OF SCIENCE (WoS)

Very good with similar coverage to Scopus, and similar features. Good with Endnote.

CABI

Good for all biological applied sciences. Lots of smaller publishers and non-western content not available in other databases, much of it in fulltext. Good with Endnote.

Google Scholar

Great coverage but minimal tools and data. GoogleScholar- an essential supplement in some cases, but it's Very poor with Endnote.

SciFinder-n (Chemical sciences)

Highly recommended for chemists and laboratory biologists (biochemistry, microbiology, genomics etc). Good with Endnote.

The associated MethodsNow platform is a great way to find information on any type of laboratory method.

Database help

© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D