Skip to Main Content
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D
Queensland Spatial Catalogue
This service is a Queensland Government initiative to provide improved public access to a variety of spatial and associated data. You can discover, display, select and download or order data over an area of interest in selected formats, including map coverage data, image data and text file data.
ASRIS- Australian Soil Resource Information System by
ASRIS provides online access to the best publicly available information on soil and land resources in a consistent format across Australia. It provides information at seven different scales (view animation).The upper-three scales provide general descriptions of soil types, landforms and regolith across the continent. The lower scales provide more detailed information in regions where mapping is complete. Information relates to soil depth, water storage, permeability, fertility, carbon and erodibility. Most soil information is recorded at five depths.
The lowest scale consists of a soil profile database with fully characterised sites that are known to be representative of significant areas and environments.
AusGeoRef is a bibliographic geoscience database that covers the Australian literature since 1840. In 2003, the American Geological Institute and Geoscience Australia began a cooperative arrangement to improve the coverage of Australian publications in GeoRef and makes this database available by subscription to organizations and companies.
From the Department of Geological Sciences, San Diego State University.
CSIRO Land and Water -Pre 1997 Reports on Soils etc.
These reports include Soil and Land Use Series, Land Research Series, Bulletins, Technical Reports, Divisional Reports and copies of the Atlas of Australian Soils. The publications contain a broad range of information related to the soil and water resources of Australia.
They include rare and valuable detailed field research that is still not available in other sources.
The Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public. Source: EoE website
Geology.com is published by Hobart King. Dr. King holds degrees in geology from California University of Pennsylvania (B.S. 1975) and West Virginia University (M.S. 1978, Ph.D. 1982). He is a licensed professional geologist in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has published Geology.com since 2005. Source: website
Geoscience Australia is a prescribed agency within the Resources, Energy and Tourism portfolio, and our Minister is The Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP.
Geoscience Australia is a world leader in providing first class geoscientific information and knowledge which enables government and community to make informed decisions about:
the exploitation of resources
the management of the environment
the safety of critical infrastructure and
the resultant wellbeing of all Australians.
Our activities cover onshore, offshore and spatial information. Source: GA website
Geoscience Portal is an initiative of the Australian Chief Government Geologists Committee. It is aimed at providing a portal to link the information of the State, Territory and Australian Government geoscience agencies: Source: website
Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center
NASA Goddard Earth Sciences (GES) Data and Information Services Center (DISC) is the home (archive) of NASA Precipitation and Hydrology, as well as Atmospheric Composition and Dynamics, data and information. In recent years, the GES DISC has taken the ‘Information Services’ part of its name much more seriously, priding itself in developing tools and services that promote easier use and usability of Earth science data and information. Source: GES DISC website
The Lost World : Records in the Rocks
This link takes you to a chapter from "Bushwalking in the Mount Warning Region", by Rob Blanch and Vince Kean. It is © and reproduced with the kind permission of Kingsclear Books, Please note that some illustrations from this chapter haven't been included here. Source:http://www.bigvolcano.com.au/natural/lostwrld.htm. The complex geology of the region is acknowledged and admits to a generalized overview for a target audience of bushwalkers.
The Remote Sensing tutorials found here provide excellent information on the characteristics of some circular structures.
NASA Images was created through a partnership between NASA and the Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library based in San Francisco, to bring public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource. The site contains everything from classic photos to educational programming and HD video, and is growing all the time as we continue to gain both new and archived media from all of NASA's centers. Source: NASA Images site.
New Zealand Volcanic History
Warning: This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated. Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara. Source: website.
Open GeoScience by
BGS has a wide range of datasets and wants to increase access to these by publishing as many as possible under OpenGeoscience. OpenGeoscience is a free service where you can view maps, download data, scans, photos and other information. The services available under Open Geoscience include:view geology data through the Geology of Britain map window and as WMS; access to over a million borehole scans; search and download photos from the GeoScenic geological photo archive.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
Mission: To provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.
Source: UNEP website
US Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information. Source: USGS website