Guides: Justice and Legal Studies : Journals & Databases

Major databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to resources on Criminology.
AFPD (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Australian Federal Police Digest (AFPD) is an index and abstract database of published and unpublished journals, conference papers and book chapters related to policing, criminology and law enforcement.
AGIS Plus Text (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Australian Attorney-General Information Service provides access to law resources including criminal law.
CINCH (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of published and unpublished material including journal articles, books, conference papers, government documents, book reviews, annual statistical reviews and theses related to crime and criminal justice.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database for research in crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports and crime blogs.
Lexis + This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Carter's Criminal Law of Queensland including cases, legislation and commentary.

Finding cases

Searching for Cases

To do a general search for cases (when you don't know all the case's details) you need to use the LexisNexis CaseBase. Under Catchwords/Summary, enter the words that you want to search; for example, domestic violence.

If you know the full details of a case, use Case Base and enter the case in Case/Article name.

CCH online can be used to do a general search for cases.

Austlii (Australasian Information Institute) can be used to find the full judgement of Australian cases.

Finding Cases - a guide courtesy of Latrobe University