Guides: Contracts A: Books

Encyclopaedias and Dictionaries on Contract Law

Contract - Halsbury's Laws of Australia Title 110 (Lexis Advance) - states the general principles of contract law in Australia.

Contract: General Principles - The Laws of Australia Title 7 (Westlaw AU)

Topics include: 7.1. Formation, 7.2. Vitiating Factors, 7.3. Parties, 7.4. Terms, 7.5. Performance, 7.6. Breach, 7.7. Defences and 7.8. Discharge.

Contracts: Specific The Laws of Australia Title 8 (Westlaw AU)

Topics: 8.1. Agency, 8.2. Real Estate Agents, 8.3. Building and Construction Contracts, 8.4. Sale of Goods, 8.5. Bailment, 8.6. Guarantees, 8.7. Insurance Contracts and 8.8. Government Contracts.

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (Lexis Advance)

Contains over 25,000 definitions covering every subject area of law. Terms are supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.

Contract Law

Cases, materials and text on contract law by H G Beale
Call Number: KJC1720.C37
The book contains leading cases, legislation and other materials from the legal traditions within Europe, with a focus on English, French and German law as the main representatives of those traditions. The book contains the basic texts and contrasting cases as well as extracts from the various international restatements.
Contract Law by Des Butler
Call Number: KU810.B88
Provides an understanding of contract law and gives a clear and systematic approach to analysing and answering problem and exam questions.
Contract Law by Lindy Willmott
Call Number: KU810.W55
Provides a comprehensive review of the principles of Contract Law.
Contract Law in Australia by J. W. Carter; Elisabeth Peden; Greg Tolhurst
Call Number: KU810.C373
Contract Law in Australia continues to be the most authoritative Australian resource available for students studying contract law and for practitioners who need to keep abreast of the latest thinking in the area.
Principles of Contract Law by Jeannie Marie Paterson
Call Number: KU810.P38
The book has been thoroughly updated in light of the Australian Consumer Law, and includes a thorough discussion of the new regimes regulating unfair contract terms, misleading and deceptive conduct, unconscionable dealing and consumer guarantees.

Australian Legal Phrases

Australian Legal Words & Phrases (Lexis Advance)

An excellent reference tool, this work provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. The publication provides details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined. Over 100,000 words and phrases from Australian case law and legislation are listed in A-Z order.