Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D
Browse biomedical journals
What is a DOI?
DOI (Digital Object Identifier):
- A permanent internet address for a journal article etc
- Not used by all journals
- When used it is found
- on the first page of the article
- sometimes in a citation. Eg APA:
Bugg, J. M., DeLosh, E. L., & McDaniel, M. A. (2008). Improving students' study habits by demonstrating the mnemonic benefits of semantic processing. Teaching of Psychology, 35(2), 96-98. doi: 10.1080/00986280801977519
Major biomedical databases
Use the full-text PDF icon to dispay a full article. If none is visible try clicking the Article linker button that you will often see next to an article. It will attempt to search our ejournal holdings for the article.
Scopus Multidisciplinary index to high quality research journal articles. Links to full-text. Scopus includes all the content of PubMed and indexes and links to all ScienceDirect content.
Science Database (ProQuest) Full text and indexed database provides access to scientific and technical journal titles with charts, diagrams, graphs, tables and photos.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary collection of full text and citation index databases including scholarly journals, books, book series, reports and conferences. Provides Citation Indexes such as Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Chemical Indexes.
CABI Databases Collection of full text and index databases containing bibliographic records, full text articles and authoritative reviews, news articles and reports covering applied life sciences
PubMed Abstract database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes full text links to journal articles on medicine and free access to citations and abstracts in Medline. Includes research articles, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Google Scholar Search tool for full text and citations of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities. To get full-text articles, set your Google Scholar preferences.
Informit Databases Access to full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, theses, government reports, discussion papers, and book chapters from Australasia's research institutions.
Find an article from a citation
If you have the reference/citation of a journal article, follow the steps shown for this example:
Segal, MN & Giacobbe, RW 2007, 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services', Services Marketing Quarterly, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 33-53.
- the journal title - Services Marketing Quarterly
- the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- the year of publication - 2007
- the volume - vol. 28
- the issue - no. 3
- the pages - pp. 33-35
- On the library website, select Journal Title Search
- Type the journal title in the search field and search
- Find the journal and select Check for availability
- Select the database that has the year of publication
- Click on the database link. This takes you to journal
- In the database, select the year of publication
- Identify the volume and the issue number
- Click on the appropriate issue
- Select the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- Browse to the correct page numbers OR
- Use the Search within current journal to search for the article title
- If you see Article Linker, follow the link to the full text of the article
- Save or print the article
- Download the full text (pdf version)