Guides: Early Childhood Education: Journals & Databases

Featured journals

Australasian Journal of Early Childhood
The Australasian Journal of Early Childhood (AJEC) is Australasia's foremost scholarly journal and the world's longest-running major journal within the early childhood field. Former title Australian Journal of Early Childhood (to 2008) Source: AJEC website
Early childhood research quarterly
For over twenty years, Early Childhood Research Quarterly (ECRQ) has influenced the field of early childhood education and development through the publication of empirical research that meets the highest standards of scholarly and practical significance. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice (Birth through 8 years of age). Source: Publisher's website
Early Childhood Education Journal
The Early Childhood Education Journal analyzes issues, trends, policies, and practices for early childhood education from birth through age eight. In addition, the journal offers well documented points of view and practical recommendations.
Peer reviewed articles cover curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, equity issues, multicultural units, health nutrition, facilities, special needs, employer sponsored care, infant/toddler programs, child development, advocacy, and more. Source: Journal home page Springer
Every Child
The magazine of Early Childhood Australia is published quarterly. Issues as health, education and social trends, and also book reviews, profiles and guest statements from well-known identities. Articles focus on aspects of early childhood from a grassroots, local level, but also look into political and national developments. Aimed at anyone involved in the care and education of young children. Source: Early Childhood website
Young Exceptional Children
Young Exceptional Children (YEC) is written for teachers, early care and education personnel, educational administrators, therapists, families and others who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are at risk for future developmental problems. It offers useful, friendly articles that help readers implement research-based strategies and interventions across many settings. Source YEC website
Early Education and Development (EE&D)
Early Education and Development (EE&D) is a professional journal for those involved in educational and preschool services and research related to children and their families: early education supervisors, school psychologists, daycare administrators, child development specialists, developmental and child clinical psychologists, and special education administrators. It is designed to emphasize the implications for practice of research and solid scientific information. Source: EE&D website
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy is a fully peer-reviewed international quarterly journal. Since its foundation in 2001 JECL has rapidly become a distinctive, leading voice in research in early childhood literacy, with a multinational range of contributors and readership. The main emphasis in the journal is on papers researching issues related to the nature, function and use of literacy in early childhood. Source: JECL website
International Research in Early Childhood Education (IRECE)
Hosted by Monash University Education, the online journal of International Research in Early Childhood Education (IRECE) is currently published twice a year. The articles are available for download free of charge. Source: IRECE website

Key databases

Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases

Changes to the ERIC Database

Please be aware that changes are being made to the ERIC database.

The ERIC Help Desk has stated: “The [US] Department of Education is working with the Department of Government Efficiency to “reduce overall Federal spending” and “reallocate spending to promote efficiency” (EO 14222). As a result, ERIC will be significantly reducing the number of records we index going forward. We expect to be reducing the collection by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025. Subject matter was not considered during the process to identify which sources would be made inactive. Please note that all records currently in ERIC will remain available.”

There is not yet a definitive list of all deselected journals, however an unofficial working document is being collated by researchers and librarians. Note this document is not affiliated with the University of the Sunshine Coast.

We will continue to update this notice when more information is available.

A+ Education (Informit)
Full text and index database of images and journal articles on childhood and adult learning, indigenous and international education, and management issues relevant to all teaching professionals (including higher education).
ERIC (ProQuest)
Database with access to education-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC (Institute of Educational Sciences)
Full text and index database containing journal articles, books, reports, opinion papers, serials, tests, guides, dissertations, proceedings and speeches.
Education Database (ProQuest One)
A comprehensive teaching, learning, and research destination of abstract and full text scholarly journals, videos, dissertations, reference work, grey literature, popular news sources, and more for the discipline of education.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Full text, abstract and index database of education journals and educational reports.

Other recommended databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full-text for more than 2,000 scholarly publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text journals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,500 journals. Source: EBSCO website
Education in Video
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms. Source EiV website

Newsletters

A to Z of Early Childhood
A to Z of Early Childhood is the Early Childhood Education and Care's regular e-newsletter.

The e-newsletter provides information on early childhood initiatives, topics and issues in Queensland to assist educators, services and providers in delivering quality education and care for children aged from birth to 8.
Source: QLD Govt Early Childhood Education and Care website.

Find journal articles in Library Search

Enter your search terms into Library Search. You may select Articles under the search to help you refine the results.

Search for interpersonal communication and feedback

Use the left side menu to refine your search (Peer Reviewed Journals, Articles, Date range).

You can remove these refinements under your Active filters.

Lock active filters if you want to change your search but keep the active filters. Either select Remember all filters (to keep all) or hover over one filter and select the padlock (to keep that filter). Any filter that has been locked will remain each time you search. You can remove one filter using the X or remove all with Reset filters.

Select Full text available and select a database to view the article. If there are multiple databases listed, select the database that includes the year the article was published.

Once in the database, you may need to find the correct year, volume and issue numbers to get the PDF.

Look for PDF, Download, or Full Text links to get the full text article.