Early Childhood Education

This book features the latest research and methods for successfully encouraging the development of these skills in groups of children aged 4-12.

The second edition of Play in the Early Years provides a comprehensive introduction to pedagogy and play in early years education settings.

Each chapter presents the benefits of play, suggests materials that children can use, and includes parent letters and checklists as well as practical tips for teachers. Information about how to set up an inclusive classroom appears throughout the book and is addressed in a separate chapter. You'll also save time with the detailed sample lesson plans that appear in the appendix.

In this new edition there is an up-to-date coverage of national curriculum documents, including the Early Years Framework and Te Whariki, a glossary of key terms and learning intentions at the beginning of each chapter.

This child-centred approach to understanding and planning curriculum focuses on humanistic and progressive education pedagogy in preschool and primary grades. The authors stress a curriculum that is joyful, has meaning to children.

A foundational text for pre-service teachers explaining the theories, policies and pedagogies that shape the provision of early childhood education and care in Australia.

Knowing about children and their development underpins a lot of the work done in the early years. This book helps readers better understand both the developmental patterns and sequences in children.

The Early Years Intervention Toolkit provides a range of ready-made activities to enable early years practitioners and health visitors to address observed difficulties in a child's development prior to starting school. It includes a checklist of observed behaviours which links to a range of effective and engaging activities to support children's development across the three prime foundational areas of learning: Communication and Language; Physical Development; and Personal, Social and Emotional Development. This toolkit offers: A time-saving approach to interventions, with additional guidance on planning, providing, and recording appropriate interventions Advice and activities to share with parents for them to try at home A framework to enable early years practitioners to identify specific difficulties in key areas of development Downloadable resources to support activities and interventions.

The Whole Child is a textbook that gives an overview of development, beginning in the mother's womb through the age of eight. It starts with a look at perspectives of early childhood, including how children have been viewed historically as well as cross-culturally.

As more and more early childhood settings implement inclusive practices, teachers need to blend special and general education techniques to help all children learn.

Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) is a framework for delivering effective and efficient services and supports to meet the needs of all young children and their families so they can achieve essential developmental and early academic learning outcomes.

How can inclusive early educators plan and deliver challenging instructions to help all young learners succeed in kindergarten? This guide has authoritative answers from some of today's most renowned names in early childhood education.

Written for busy teachers, trainers, managers and students, this ;dip-in, dip-out guide makes theories of learning accessible and practical. It explores 130 classic and contemporary learning theorists in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit teaching and learning.

Understanding the Montessori Approachis a much needed source of information for those wishing to extend and consolidate their understanding of the Montessori Approach and how it is used in the teaching and learning of young children. It will enable the reader to analyse the essential elements of this Approach to early childhood and and its relationship to quality early years practice.

This textbook gives readers a clear overview of a selection of the most influential thinkers on education in the last hundred years. Practical examples show how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching.

The focus of this book is on different aspects of leadership and governess for learning in the early childhood education and care (ECEC) sector, which serves children aged 1-5 years. Internationally, the discourse on the ECEC sector is interwoven with the discourse on early intervention, where ECEC is viewed as laying the foundation for lifelong learning, eliminating child poverty, and fostering social inclusion within an increasingly diverse population.

The collection brings together the latest work of researchers from Australia, Africa, Asia, and Europe focusing on early childhood leadership matters. It covers different aspects of leadership in early education: professional education and development, identity and leadership strategies as well as governance and leadership under different frame conditions.

Early childhood educators are keenly aware of the importance of a child's transition to "real school." This transition is occurring earlier in a child's life now that school districts nationwide are moving to pre-kindergarten experiences for 3- and 4-year olds.

This report provides an overview of policy strategies on early childhood education settings (from birth to primary schooling) in eight countries.

An Interdisciplinary Approach to Early Childhood Education and Care explores early childhood education and care in Australia from a variety of perspectives, highlighting the complexity of working within the field and the need for a truly interdisciplinary approach.

Strong Foundations: Evidence informing practice in early childhood education and care celebrates the progress made by the Australian early childhood education and care profession since the implementation of the Early Years Learning Framework.

Researchers from different disciplines (e.g., physiological, psychological, philosophical) have investigated motivation using multiple approaches.