Skip to Main Content
USC logo

Health databases and clinical tools - APA7 Style: Introduction

Medications

Format

Chapter Author, A. A. (Year). Title of chapter. In StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. http://xxxxx

References - example

Singh, S., & McKintosh, R. (2020). Adenosine. StatPearls. Retrieved April 4, 2024 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK519049/

In-text - example

Parenthetical citations: … (Singh & McKintosh, 2020).
Narrative citations: Singh and McKintosh (2020) …

 

Format

Title of source (ed.). (Year). Publisher.

References - example

Nursing 2020 drug handbook (40th ed.). (2020). Wolters Kluwer.

In-text - example

Parenthetical citations: ... (Nursing 2020 Drug Handbook, 2020).

 

Format

Title of entry. (Year). Title of source. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://xxxxx 

References - example

Qinlock. (2021). MIMS Online. Retrieved February 12, 2021, from

In-text - example

Parenthetical citations: ... ("Qinlock", 2020).
Narrative citations: "Qinlock" (2020) ...

Notes

  • Use the full title or shortened version enclosed with double quotation marks in-text when the work has no author

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxx

OR

Title of entry. (Year). Title of source. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://xxxxx 

References - example

Hypothyroidism (2019). Therapeutic guidelines. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://tgldcdp.tg.org.au/viewTopic?

In-text - example

Parenthetical Citation: ... ("Hypothyroidism", 2019).
Narrative Citation: "Hypothyroidism" (2019) ...

More information

APA Style - Clinical Practice References

 

Format

Title of entry. (Year). Title of source. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://xxxxx 

References - example

Metformin. (2021). Australian Medicines Handbook. Retrieved May 18, 2021, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/endocrine-

          drugs/drugs-diabetes/other-drugs-diabetes/metformin

In-text - examples

Parenthetical citations: ... ("Metformin", 2021).
Narrative citations: "Metformin" (2021) ...

Notes

Use the full title or shortened version enclosed with double quotation marks in-text when the work has no author

Standards / Codes of Conduct / Charters

Format

Name of standards organisation. (Year of publication). Standard name italicised. https//:xxxxx 

References 

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2016). Registered nurse standards for practice. http://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-

          Guidelines-Statements/Professional-standards/registered-nurse-standards-for-practice.aspx

In-text - example

First citation:
Parenthetical Citation: ... (Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2016).
Narrative Citation: Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA, 2016) ...

In-text - example

Subsequent citation:
Parenthetical Citation: Standard 4.2 was developed to ... (NMBA, 2016).
Narrative Citation: NMBA (2016)...

Notes

For corporate or government authors with long titles, introduce and then use the initialism/acronym.
Note the use of square brackets inside the in-text citation.

 

Format

Name of standards organisation. (Year of publication). Standard name italicised (x ed.). https//:xxxxx 

References

Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. (2017). National safety and quality health service standards (2nd ed.).

          https://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/National-Safety-and-Quality-Health-Service-Standards-second-edition.pdf 

In-text

First citation (example): In accordance to the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care’s (ACSQHC, 2017) National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS Standards) practitioners should ...
Subsequent citation (example): The NSQHS Standards (ACSQHC, 2017) state ...
Specific standards citation (example): As per standard 4.2 (ACSQHC, 2017) ...

 

Format

Author, A. A. or Group author name. (Year). Title of code italicised. https://xxxxx 

Reference - example

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018). Code of conduct for nurses. http://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-Guidelines-

          Statements/Professional-standards.aspx

In-text - example First citation:
Parenthetical Citation: ... (Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2018).
Narrative Citation: Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA, 2018) ...
In-text - example Subsequent citation:
Parenthetical Citation: ... (NMBA, 2018).
Narrative Citation: NMBA (2018)...

Notes

For corporate or government authors with long titles, introduce and then use the initialism/acronym
Note the use of square brackets inside the in-text citation

More information

APA Style - Clinical Practice References

 

Format

Organisation. (Year). Title of charter. http://xxxxx

Reference - example

World Health Organization. (1986). Ottawa charter for health promotion: First international conference on health promotion Ottawa,

In-text - examples First citation
Parenthetical Citation: ... (World Health Organization [WHO], 1986).
Narrative Citation: World Health Organization (WHO, 1986) ...
In-text - example Subsequent citations
Parenthetical Citation: ... (WHO, 1986).
Narrative Citation: WHO (1986) ...

 

Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. UpToDate. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://xxxxx

References - example

Wexler, D. J., Nathan, D. M., & Mulder, J. E. (2020). Initial management of hyperglycemia in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus. UpToDate.

In-text - example  
Parenthetical citations: ... (Wexler et al., 2020).
Narrative citations: Wexler et al. (2020) ...
Notes
Articles in the UpToDate database are available only in that database.
Include a retrieval date because the content is designed to change over time and versions of the page are not archived.

 

Nursing Textbooks

Format

Chapter Author, A. A., & Chapter Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter. In C. C. Author & D. D. Author (Eds), Title of book (x ed., Vol. X, pp. x-x). Publisher.

References - example

Levett-Jones, T. (2021). Communicating. In A. Berman, G. Frandsen, S.J. Snyder, T. Levett-Jones, A. Burston, T. Dwyer, M. Hales, N. Harvey, T. Langtree, L.Moxham, K. Reid-Searle, F. Rolf,

& D. Stanley (Eds), Kozier and Erb’s fundamentals of nursing: Concepts, process and practice (5th Australian ed., Vol. 2., pp.483-504). Pearson.

In-text - example  
Parenthetical citations: ... (Levett-Jones, 2021).
Narrative citations: Levett-Jones (2021) ...

Notes

At no place are any “editors” of the book mentioned (they are called authors) so this is omitted from the reference
Each chapter has clearly named authors 

 

Format

Chapter Author, A. A., & Chapter Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter. In C. C. Editor & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (x ed., pp. x-x). Publisher.

References - example

Lewis, S. L., & Twyford, K. L. (2017). Nursing assessment: Visual and auditory problems. In D. Brown, H. Edwards, T. Buckley,

& R. L. Aitken (Eds.), Lewis’s medical-surgical nursing: Assessment and management of clinical problems (5th ANZ ed., pp. 434-463). Elsevier.

In-text - example

Parenthetical citations: ... (Lewis & Twyford, 2017).
Narrative citations: Lewis and Twyford (2017) ...

More information

APA Style – Chapter in an Edited Book/Ebook References 
Section 10.3 of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition" (American Psychological Association, 2020, pp. 326-329). 

 

Format

Chapter Author, A. A., & Chapter Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter. In C. C. Editor & D. D. Editor, Title of book (x ed., pp. x-x). Publisher.

References - example

Harvey, N. (2021). Respiratory nursing skills. In A. Berman, S. Snyder, C. Jackson, T. Levett-Jones, T. Burton, & N. Harvey, Skills in clinical nursing (2nd Australian ed., pp. 555-628). Pearson Australia.

In-text - example

Parenthetical citations: ... (Harvey, 2021).
Narrative citations: Harvey (2021) ...

More information

APA Style – Chapter in an Edited Book/Ebook References 
Section 10.3 of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition" (American Psychological Association, 2020, pp. 326-329). 

 

Format

Editor, E. E. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book (x ed., Vol. x). Publisher Name. 

References - example

Farrell, M. (Ed.). (2017). Smeltzer & Bare’s textbook of medical-surgical nursing (4th ANZ ed., Vol. 1). Wolters Kluwer.

In-text

Parenthetical citations:   ... (Farrell, 2017).
Narrative citations: Farrell (2017) ...

Notes

The Chapters are attributed to “Contributors and reviewers” on p. vii of vol. 1, but they do not appear on the actual chapters in the text.
It is not clear what each of these contributors actually did, so we cannot assume they are the “author” of the chapter.
On balance the only reasonable course seems to be to cite it as a whole book.

More information

APA Style - Book/Ebook References 
Section 10.2 of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition" (American Psychological Association, 2020, pp. 321-322).

 

Other

Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, vol(issue), x-x. https://doi.org/10.xxxxxxxx 

References - example

Dowman, L., Hill, C. J., May, A., & Holland, A. E. (2021). Pulmonary rehabilitation for interstitial lung disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviewshttps://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006322.pub4 

In-text - examples

Parenthetical citations: ... (Dowman et al., 2021).
Narrative citations: Dowman et al. (2021) ...

Notes

Articles that appear in Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are only available in that database.
Different versions of Cochrane reviews include different information, which means the reference might vary too.
Follow the principle of citing what you see.  

More information

APA Style - Clinical Practice References
Section 10.1.13 of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition" (American Psychological Association, 2020, p. 319).

 

APA Style - Clinical Practice References 
Section 10.1.14 of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition" (American Psychological Association, 2020, p. 319). 

 

© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D