Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo
Library Guides

Endnote (online version)

Manage your references and format reference lists in Word documents.

Import/Export options

Most databases provide a way to export information that can be added to your EndNote Online collection. Some are easier than others.

We will list and describe the easy options at the top of this page and the more complex options are toward the bottom.

In general, you export information from a database which is then imported into EndNote Online.

In a few cases, you can search from within EndNote Online and import the information directly. This is fairly easy and is described in the "Online search" box directly below.

Online Search

This option is good for retrieving:

  • Book records from library catalogues
  • Records from the Pubmed database

Within Endnote Online:

  1. Hover mouse over "Connect", then "Online search" link
  2. Click on the Down-arrow to choose a database to search
  3. Choose the database you want (e.g. Pubmed or U Queensland), then press "Connect"
  4. Enter search terms (remember to pick correct fields to search)
  5. Use "select a range of records to retrieve" option (gives you a chance to limit the number before you import them)
  6. Click "Retrieve" button
  7. Click the title link of each reference and examine the information and what fields it has gone into. This is to make sure all necessary information is correctly entered
  8. "Add to group..." into any group you have set up to add the reference to that group

EBSCO Direct Export

All EBSCO databases have a built-in export to EndNote Online.

Ebsco databases available at USC include: CINAHL, SportDiscus and Megafile. MegaFile includes: Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Reference Systems, EconLit, Health Business full-text Elite, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition, MAS Ultra: School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection, Regional Business News and The Serials Directory.

Once you have found an interesting article, either:

  1. click the Export button at the top of the record, or
  2. add to your Folder and then export from the Folder page, using the same Export button. By adding them to the Folder, you can export many articles at once.

Be sure to choose the Direct Export to EndNote Online option on the Export page. You will be asked to log into EndNote Online, if you aren't already logged in. Your new citations go into the Unfiled folder by default. You should immediately move them from "Unfiled" into relevant named groups you have set up, usually for different topics.

Web of Knowledge databases Direct Export

Web of Knowledge databases include:

  • Web of Science
  • Current Contents Connect
  • Medline (= same as Pubmed)

As WOK and Endnote/EndNote Online are made by the same company (ISI, Thomson Reuters) they integrate and work together very well.

  1. Search the database in the Web of Knowledge portal
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “Send to my.endnote.com". (Watch out! Do not click the Endnote option in the dropdown!)
  4. New references will appear in the “unfiled” group in Endnote Online

What about Google Scholar!

Google Scholar does have the ability to export references into Endnote but not directly into Endnote Online. If you are on a computer with Endnote installed, Scholar can export references one at a time. You can export these from your open Endnote library into Endnote Online by using the Sychronize icon in Endnote.

SUMMARY: Google Scholar is probably the worst choice if you want to easily export references into Endnote Online.

Other databases -Download a file and Import

In some cases there is no export function in the database you are searching, or the export function doesn't work on your computer. In these cases, you can usually download a text file with the citation information in a format readable by EndNoteWeb. To do this you will first export and download the text file, then import it into EndNoteWeb.

When importing, choose the format specifically for EndNote/EndNote Web, if available, or the RefmanRIS format. It is usually most convenient to save the file to the Desktop.

To import

  1. In EndNote Web go to Collect. Select Import References.
  2. Browse for your file. Select the appropriate filter from the list. The filters usually have the name of the database, such as JSTOR. If you do not see a filter with your database name, try the RefMan RIS filter.
  3. Choose which group you want your new citations to go to.
  4. Click the Import button.

You should see a report above the boxes listing how many records were imported into which folder. If the number of records does not match the number you exported, view the new records to see if there were errors.

Scopus

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “export” button at top or base of page
  4. Choose “RIS” Export format and “Complete” Output
  5. Click Export, then Save (NOT Open!)
  6. Save the file (Scopus.ris) to Desktop
  7. In ENW,  click “Collect” tab, and then “Import references”
  8. Click “Browse" to select the Scopus.ris file from the desktop
  9. Under Filter, select RefmanRIS
  10. Under To, select "Unfiled" or whatever other group you have set up
  11. Click “Import”

Proquest databases

Proquest databases include: Proquest Central, Nursing & Allied Health Source, ABI/Inform, and ERIC via Proquest (and many more)

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click Export link at top of reference list
  4. Click Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, …etc
  5. In your browser click File…Save as…
  6. Click “Save records”, then Save (NOT Open!)
  7. Save the file (pqdweb) as .txt  to Desktop
  8. In Endnote Web,  click “Collect” tab, them “Import references”
  9. Click “Browse to select the pqdweb.txt file from the desktop
  10. Under Filter, select RefmanRIS
  11. Under To, select Unfiled or whatever other group you have set up
  12. Click “Import”

Informit databases

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “Save” button at top or base of page
  4. Change “Field Label Format” to “Short field labels”
  5. Change “Output Format” to “Endnote”
  6. Click “Save records”, then Save (NOT Open!)
  7. Save the file (Informit_Results.txt) to Desktop
  8. In Endnote Web,  click “Collect” tab, them “Import references”
  9. Click “Browse to select the Informit_Results.txt file from the desktop
  10. Under Filter, select informit generic
  11. Under To, select Unfiled or whatever other group you have set up
  12. Click “Import”

PsycInfo

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “export” button at top or base of page
  4. Leave option as “Export to: reference software” and click “Go”
  5. Click Export, then Save (NOT Open!)
  6. Save the file (PsycINFO_Export.ris) to Desktop
  7. In Endnote Web,  click “Collect” tab, them “Import references”
  8. Click “Browse to select the PsycINFO_Export.ris file from the desktop
  9. Under Filter, select RefmanRIS
  10. Under To, select Unfiled or whatever other group you have set up
  11. Click “Import”

Geobase

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “Detailed record” radio button at top or base of page, then “Download”
  4. Choose “RIS”, then “Download”
  5. Click Export, then Save (NOT Open!)
  6. Save the file (xxxxx.ris) to Desktop
  7. In Endnote Web,  click “Collect” tab, them “Import references”
  8. Click “Browse” to select the xxxxx.ris file from the desktop
  9. Under Filter, select RefmanRIS
  10. Under To, select Unfiled or whatever other group you have set up
  11. Click “Import”

JSTOR

  1. Search the database
  2. Choose references you want by checking boxes
  3. Click “export citation link” button towards top of page
  4. Click on RIS option
  5. Click Export, then Save (NOT Open!)
  6. Save the file (citations.ris) to Desktop
  7. In Endnote Web,  click “Collect” tab, them “Import references”
  8. Click “Browse to select the citations.ris file from the desktop
  9. Under Filter, select JSTOR
  10. Under To, select Unfiled or whatever other group you have set up
  11. Click “Import”
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D