Skip to main content
USC logo
Library Guides

COR109

To complete Task 2, you need to cite at least one peer-reviewed journal article.
Refer to the Task 2 List of Resources in your COR109 Blackboard course to find the details of these articles. 
Below are three ways to find a known journal article. If one method doesn't work, scroll down to try the next method.
Before searching, Login to Discover with your USC email and password.
Example article citation
Baseer, N., Mahboob, U., & Degnan, J. (2018). Sharpening the feedback skills of doctoral supervisors. Medical Education, 52(11), 1207–1208. https://doi.org/10.1111/medu.13708

This article is NOT a required reading for Task 2. This citation is used only as an example for the instructions below.

Phrase searching

Start with a phrase search by typing the article title inside double quotation marks, into Discover's basic search. Discover will search for those words in that exact order.

Phrase search for "Sharpening the feedback skills of doctoral supervisors" in Discover

  1. From the List of Resources, find the first journal article.
  2. Type or copy and paste the article title into the search in Discover.
    • Add double quotation marks at the beginning and end of the title.
    • e.g. "Sharpening the feedback skills of doctoral supervisors"
    • Hint: accuracy is important so watch your spelling and punctuation
  3. Hit Enter on your keyboard or select the search icon
  4. Select Download PDF (if available)
    • If the PDF is not available on this screen, move onto the next step
  5. Select Check for availability to open to full record.
  6. Under Full text availability, select the database that has the year of publication.
    • There may be multiple databases listed.
    • Look at the year the article was published and the year range for which that journal is available in each database.
    • Select the database that provides access to the required year.
    • The database may open in a new window.
  7. Download, save or print the PDF.
  8. Repeat the steps above for the second article in the List of Resources.

Field search for article title and author

If the phrase search doesn't work, try a field search for the article title and author using Discover's Advanced Search.

Field search for title and author in Discover

  1. In Discover, select the Advanced Search
  2. In the first line,
    • Change the Any field drop down to Title
    • Type the article title in the search field
  3. In the second line
    • Change the Any field drop down to Author/Creator
    • Type the author's surname in the search field
  4. Hit Enter on your keyboard or select Search
  5. Select Download PDF (if available)
    • If the PDF is not available on this screen, move onto the next step
  6. Select Check for availability to open to full record.
  7. Under Full text availability, select the database that has the year of publication.
    • There may be multiple databases listed.
    • Look at the year the article was published and the year range for which that journal is available in each database.
    • Select the database that provides access to the required year.
    • The database may open in a new window.
  8. Download, save or print the PDF.

Journal Title Search

If you still can't find the article, try searching for the Journal and browse the issues. Start by identifying:

  • the journal title - Medical Education
  • the article title - 'Sharpening the feedback skills of doctoral supervisors'
  • the year of publication - 2018
  • the volume - vol. 52
  • the issue - no. 11
  • the pages - pp. 1207-1208

undefined

  1. On the library website, select Journal Title Search
  2. Type the journal title in the search field and search
  3. Find the journal and select Check for availability
  4. Select the database that has the year of publication
    • Click on the database link. This takes you to journal.
  5. In the database, search within current journal to find the article title.
    • If you can't find it, move onto the next step to browse all issues.
  6. Select the year of publication
    • Identify the volume and the issue number
    • Click on the appropriate issue
  7. Select the article title - 'Sharpening the feedback skills of doctoral supervisors'
    • Browse to the correct page numbers OR
    • If you see Article Linker, follow the link to the full text of the article
  8. Download, save or print the PDF.

The elements of a scholarly journal article

Play the scholarly article game

Find out what you know about the elements of a scholarly/academic journal article.


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D