Guides: Prosthetics and Orthotics: Evidence Based Practice

Major evidence based practice databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases containing reviews and analysis of medical research, trials, method studies, technology assessments and economic evaluations. Key source of information in evidence-based medicine (EBM).
JBI EBP Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database of evidence based practice resources in nursing and allied health science specialities. Contains Evidence Based (EB) Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medicine resource categorised into synopses; clinical questions; systematic reviews; guidelines; patient handouts and eBooks. Most, but not all content or features are available; UniSC does not have a subscription.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support tool trusted by clinicians to make the right point-of-care decisions. Also includes great patient education content, practice guidelines, drug interaction and calculators.
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines is a full text and index database with clinical guidelines for health practitioners. Includes current evidence - based treatment and care recommendations.

Register for Therapeutic Guidelines App: You need to be on campus or using USC Anywhere to complete the Token Registration form. When the form is completed, you will receive an email with a token and app download instructions.

Evidence based practice resources

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support tool trusted by clinicians to make the right point-of-care decisions. Also includes great patient education content, practice guidelines, drug interaction and calculators.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases containing reviews and analysis of medical research, trials, method studies, technology assessments and economic evaluations. Key source of information in evidence-based medicine (EBM).
JBI EBP Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database of evidence based practice resources in nursing and allied health science specialities. Contains Evidence Based (EB) Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines is a full text and index database with clinical guidelines for health practitioners. Includes current evidence - based treatment and care recommendations.

Register for Therapeutic Guidelines App: You need to be on campus or using USC Anywhere to complete the Token Registration form. When the form is completed, you will receive an email with a token and app download instructions.
Natural Medicines (TRC) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to evidence-based information and books on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

MSD Manual Professional version

Campbell Collaboration A not-for-profit organization that makes accessible systematic reviews in the social sciences for the purpose of evidence-based policy and practice. Free full-text.

OT Seeker This link opens in a new window
Occupational Therapy (OT) is an abstract database containing systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials (RCTs) specific to occupational therapy practice up to 2017. Evidence - based practice resources.

Occupational therapy- Clinical trials A search engine of over 1000 clinical trials on the effectiveness of OT interventions. From NHS Choices portal (UK).
speechBITE Search for EB studies in speech pathology.

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials (RCTs) and clinical practice guidelines.

eLENA-e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions The WHO electronic Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) includes a wide variety of intervention topics as part of its first edition. Nutrition actions ranging from topic areas such as: breastfeeding, complementary feeding, micronutrient supplementation, severe acute malnutrition treatments, and deworming are included.
Evidence-Informed Public Health From Canada's National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT). Includes the 6S Pyramid to efficiently SEARCH the research evidence
USDA Evidence Library NEL specializes in conducting systematic reviews to inform (US) Federal nutrition policy and programs. The Library evaluates, synthesizes, and grades the strength of the evidence to support conclusions.
Epistemonikos Systemastic reviews and more harvested from multiple sources. Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

Primary, secondary and tertiary literature

Image source: https://library.onu.edu/c.php?g=357773&p=2720217

Primary, secondary and tertiary literature (PDF, 121 KB)
A more detailed and complete explanation.

EBP teaching slide sets

Finding and using health EBP literature (PDF, 3,099 KB)
Understand the basics of EBP literature and how to find it.
Understanding PICO and PCC
Search strategy for quantitative and qualitative questions