Guides: Prosthetics and Orthotics: Journals & Databases

Useful Journals

Academic / Scholarly

Non-academic, industry magazine

Lower Extremity Review

Find an article from a citation

If you have the reference/citation of a journal article, follow the steps shown for this example:

Segal, MN & Giacobbe, RW 2007, 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services', Services Marketing Quarterly, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 33-53.

Identify
- the journal title - Services Marketing Quarterly
- the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- the year of publication - 2007
- the volume - vol. 28
- the issue - no. 3
- the pages - pp. 33-35
On the library website, select Journal Title Search
Type the journal title in the search field and search
Find the journal and select Check for availability
Select the database that has the year of publication
- Click on the database link. This takes you to journal
In the database, select the year of publication
- Identify the volume and the issue number
- Click on the appropriate issue
Select the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- Browse to the correct page numbers OR
- Use the Search within current journal to search for the article title
- If you see Article Linker, follow the link to the full text of the article
Save or print the article
- Download the full text (pdf version)

Major databases

Use the full-text PDF icon to display a full article. If none is visible try clicking the Article linker button that you will often see next to an article. It will attempt to search our ejournal holdings for the article.

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Full text database of ebooks, videos, interactive modules, case studies and self-assessment tools for physiotherapy.

Instructions: Users need to create a free MyAccess profile. In the top right corner of the database, select Sign in and then select Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Abstract database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes full text links to journal articles on medicine and free access to citations and abstracts in Medline. Includes research articles, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Lowitja Institute: LIt.Search This link opens in a new window
A "filter" that allows easy access to predefined sub-sets of the large PubMed database index of medical and allied health literature; limiting results to different aspects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait lslander health.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full text and index database for journals and monographs.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and index database covering all nursing specialities and international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases.
Note: Limited to 1 concurrent user.
Global Health (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
A leading database for public health research, providing access to global health literature, including journal articles, reports, and other grey literature, with a focus on international health issues.
Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, dissertations and theses, reference materials, magazines, newspapers, case studies, reports, guidelines and standards across the health and medical disciplines.
Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database of research articles, reports and case studies of practical support on nursing and allied health education, training and research.
OECD This link opens in a new window
The Organization for Economic Cooperation Development (OECD) online library is a multidisciplinary full text database containing eBooks, articles, and data on OECD member nations. Coverage includes business indicators, education, development, environment, health, as well as science and technology. The online library also has the annual publication OECD Factbook.

Databases for Systematic Review

Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, books, journals, online tools, bibliographic databases and newsletters relevant to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Provides tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full text and citation index databases including scholarly journals, books, book series, reports and conferences. Provides Citation Indexes such as Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Chemical Indexes.
For effective searching use “quotation marks” around each search term, including single words.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search tool for full text and citations of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities.

Instructions: To get full-text articles, set your Google Scholar preferences.