Conditions of Access
Some collections have specific conditions, usually at the request of the donor.
Unless otherwise stated, the following conditions apply to UniSC Research Collections:
- Research Collections material is available for use by students and staff of the University, and by members of the public, on production of adequate identification. The Library reserves the right to keep records of usage of the Collections.
- To access Research Collection material that is not available online, please complete the Onsite Access form in advance and indicate which items you wish to access. There may be a delay if you do not request access in advance.
- Material may not leave the Library.
- Fragile or manuscript material is available for consultation at the discretion of UniSC Library Staff, taking into account its condition and the research needs of the patron. Particular care must be taken of this material, and if necessary, protective gloves will be provided. The condition of the material may be checked by UniSC Library Staff before and after use by a reader.
- Photocopying may be permitted on request, taking into account the condition of the material, and must comply with normal Copyright laws. In many cases we will be able to forward a digital version of the material you wish to copy.
- Acknowledgment of the UniSC Research Collections must be made in all publications using material from any of the manuscript collections.
For more information on conditions of access, please contact email@example.com
The following categories may apply to works contained in Archive Collections.
- Open Access: These works are available to be viewed, downloaded and printed by the public for non-commercial purposes only (i.e. personal research and study). Any other use requires written permission. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org
- Restricted Access: Some works may have restrictions placed on them by the copyright owner. These works may only be accessible by authorised users. To enquire about these items, contact email@example.com
- Public Domain: Items that are in the public domain can be viewed, downloaded and printed without restriction. Please attribute the UniSC Research Archive.
Copyright is a legal right that gives copyright owners in works the right to control certain activities with respect to the works. UniSC Research Collection material contains rare and unique works, often with a mix of published and unpublished works. This means that the copyright status can vary. In order to facilitate access, copying and publishing, donors of special collection material are asked to enter into an agreement with UniSC which sets out agreed conditions under which users can use the works. UniSC Library Staff refer to these agreements when determining how you may use works in a particular collection.
Copyright Infringement Notification
We have made every reasonable effort to ensure that works included in UniSC Research Collections are either free of copyright or that copyright permissions have been obtained.
If you believe that the inclusion of a work in a UniSC Research Collection constitutes copyright infringement or a breach of an agreed license or contract, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org providing sufficient information for our investigation and response.