Guides: MoHA 2015: Capacity Building in Research: Journals & Databases

@UNStats (Official Twitter feed of the United Nations Statistics Division)

Governance: an international journal of policy, administration, and institution
Public Money and Management
Public Money & Management (PMM) is a highly-respected international journal covering finance, policy and management issues in public services. Source: Publisher website.
International Review of Financial Analysis
The International Review of Financial Analysis (IRFA) is a non-affiliated refereed journal whose primary goal is to provide an outlet for high quality Financial Research. The journal is open to a diversity of Financial Research topics and will be unbiased in the selection process. The focus of IRFA is not limited to U.S. centric topics but, as its title implies, is open to value added research output from around the world. Source: IRFA website

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
Database provides access to all ABS online statistical services including census data, labour force statistics and Australian social trends. Subjects include wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories. Source: UIS website
IMF eLibrary Data:Government Finance Statistics
The Government Finance Statistics (GFS) portal on the IMF eLibrary provides GFS data in the Government Finance Statistics Manual 2014 Framework. You can access GFS data by country and indicator. You can download data with customized queries. Source: IMF GFS Data website.
United Nations Statistics Division

Profile.id This link opens in a new window
Demographic and economic information from over 300 Australian and New Zealand local government areas and suburbs that include community profiles, population forecasts, economic profiles, local industry information, case studies, national indicators, guides and ebooks.

Instructions: Users are required to register for a personal account.

economy.id
.id delivers online economic profiles to councils across Australia. The sites bring together economic data from multiple sources to tell the story of a local economy and how it is changing. This information is designed to be used by council staff, local businesses, investors, community groups, students and the general public. Source: .id website
Queensland Government Statisticians office
Statistics related to criminal activity, criminal justice and other justice topics.

APAFT (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APAFT) is an indexed online collection produced by the National Library of Australia. It contains scanned images of articles from Australian journals.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database including journals (all journals from the American Accounting Association), reference reports, proceedings and dissertations related to finance, accounting, trade and law.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EconLit (Economic Literature) is a full text and index database containing journal articles, eBooks, dissertations and working papers related to economics
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database with company, industry and country information from over 200 countries. Includes market data analysis, Porters 5 forces, PESTLE analyses and SWOT analysis.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database provides information on qualitative and quantitative research methods. More focus on methodology rather than discipline. Includes books, journal articles and reference content.

Note: Includes online access to Little Green Books for quantitative research methods and Little Blue Books for qualitative research methods.

ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Collection of multidisciplinary full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, dissertations and theses, encyclopaedias, government and official publications, magazines, newspapers, trade journals, reports, wire feeds and standards. Individual specialist databases may be selected for searching.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of journal articles, books, conference papers and encyclopaedia related to many areas of academic study
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search tool for full text and citations of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities.

Instructions: To get full-text articles, set your Google Scholar preferences.