Mechanical Engineering

Coverage of the topics most critical to today's mechanical engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering.

This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.

This handbook covers basic concepts in mechanical engineering and mechatronics, including stress and strain, mechanics of solids, internal combustion engines, refrigeration, fluid mechanics, control systems, actuation, robotics, electro-mechanical systems, hydraulics, and more.

Building the World comprises detailed entries on over forty of the most important engineering projects in world history, such as: Washington D.C., the Eiffel Tower, and the Channel Tunnel. The rich illustration program includes 66 photographs and 30 illustrations, maps, and drawings that document the most important structures ever built. Each entry includes a detailed history of the planning and construction of the project, and a discussion of its subsequent importance. A unique feature of the encyclopedia is an extensive primary source collection that illustrates how the decision to create such a structure came to be, demonstrating the importance of individuals in imagining, planning, and building some of the most famous engineering landmarks in the world.
(Source: Amazon)

Written by America's most famous engineering storyteller and educator, this abecedarian is one engineer's selection of thoughts, quotations, anecdotes, facts, trivia, and arcana relating to the practice, history, culture, and traditions of his profession.