The League of Nations (1919 - 1946) was the forerunner to the United Nations.
The United Nations is an international organisation founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights. More about the UN.
The UN website includes the following:
The UN and the Rule of Law - the principle that everyone – from the individual right up to the State itself – is accountable to laws that are publicly promulgated, equally enforced and independently adjudicated, is a fundamental concept which drives much of the United Nations work.
Official Document Centre includes all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are being constantly added. The ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
Year book of the UN - full text, free and complete collection 1946 to date (note: publication is several years behind - for example the 2007 Yearbook was published in 2011). The Yearbook is the principal reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions.
The Journal of the United Nations - full text from 2003+. The Journal contains the daily programme of meetings at Headquarters of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and other bodies scheduled to take place on a given day, as well as identifies the symbols of major documents to be considered at the meetings -- even when the documents may not yet have been officially released. It also summarises treaty actions which have been undertaken at the previous day by States in respect of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General.
The General Assembly is the main deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations. Comprising all 193 Members of the United Nations, it provides a unique forum for multilateral discussion of the full spectrum of international issues covered by the Charter. The Assembly meets in regular session intensively from September to December each year, and thereafter as required.
The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the Charter,for the maintenance of international peace and security.
The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is a founding UN Charter body established in 1946. The world’s economic, social and environmental challenges are discussed by the Council, which issues policy recommendations.
The Secretariat — comprising an international staff working in duty stations around the world — carries out the diverse day-to-day work of the Organization. It services the other principal organs of the United Nations and administers the programmes and policies laid down by them.
The League of Nations (1919 - 1946) was the forunner to the United Nations. It was established in 1919 under the Treaty of Versailles 'to promote international cooperation and to achieve peace and security'.
League of Nations treaties
League of Nations documents
League of Nations Research Guides