Skip to main content
USC logo
Library Guides

Endnote

Reference management software for your research

Choose a Style

To choose a new bibliographic style (except Harvard), click Select Another Style on the Endnote toolbar:

Choose your style from the list in the pop-up Style Manager:

This will now be your default display style until you change it.

HARVARD USERS NOTE: The Harvard version that comes with Endnote is British Standard Harvard; and quite different to the style used at USC. 

USC uses the Australian version as modified by the Uni of Qld Library. Download it and use as instructed in the box below.

Styles

Some styles do not come with the Endnote installation

These include the version of Harvard style used at USC, and a version of Vancouver using superscripted numbers which is also preferred by most USC students and lecturers.

Get these styles operational using these instructions

On USC Lab computers (Win7):

  • In Windows Explorer (or My Computer) create a folder called Endnote under Libraries/Documents (your personal space on the USC network).
  • Create another folder called Styles inside it. You should then have this available: 
    • Libraries\Documents\Endnote\Styles
  • Download the connection file (link below) and save it into this Stylesfolder.  Endnote will now look in this folder for the correct style.

OR 

On your personal PC or Mac:

  • Check in Endnote where your Endnote styles folder sits.  (Probably at C:\Program Files\Endnote or Documents\Endnote\Styles)
    • References > Preferences > Folder Locations > Style Folder. This will give the name and location of your Endnote folder.
  • If there is not a Connections folder in it, create it: 
    • Use the naming format EndNote\Styles.
  • Download the style file (link below) and save it into this Styles folder.  Endnote will now look in this folder for that style.

CHOOSE it using instructions on this page to activate it.

Formatting in EndNote

The major formatting styles used at USC are: APA, Harvard (Qld) and Vancouver. See the boxes below on this page.

In EndNote , there are two methods of formatting citations.

  • Format an entire folder in a particular style. Choose Format, then Bibliography.
  • Use the "Cite While You Write" MS Word plugin to format in text citations and a bibliography within Word.
  • To choose a formatting style, select your prefered style from the very long list. Once a style is set it will be available to choose from the top menu bar style window
  • References added to your library will display in the bottom preview window, in the chosen style, when they are highlighted

APA 6th Edition & Harvard

To create a reference list in a Word document with in-text citations (i.e., APA6th or Harvard):

NB. Use the harvard_uq_2002_v8+ style at USC

  • From the EndNote toolbar in Word choose a Style (use Drop-down and "Select another style ..." if necessary. The style you choose will persist until you change it).
  • Position the cursor in your document where you want to insert the reference.
  • From the EndNote toolbar select “Find Citations” represented by a magnifying glass icon.
  • Search for the reference you want to cite.
  • Select the reference and click “Insert.”
  • If your style requires you to cite a specific page number, select “Edit Citation” from the EndNote toolbar. Select the relevant cited reference and add the page number. Click the “OK” button.
     

NOTE: EndNote can format citations in the new APA 6th edition style. Please see this page for a few exceptions and problems.

Vancouver

To create a numbered reference list in Word with number in-text  (i.e., Vancouver or JAMA):

From the EndNote toolbar in Word choose Vancouver using the Style window.

  • In Word, position the cursor in your document where you want to insert the reference number.
  • From the Word Endnote tab, click "Find citations"
  • Type your author surname in the search box and click "Find", then "Insert" at bottom of box.
  • The the intext and reference list entry will automatically format in your Word document.
  • You can insert any number of references in one place.

Important Note: Correct Vancouver referencing requires journal names to be abbreviated according to the NLM List of Journals (searchable here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nlmcatalog/journals ). Follow the instruction on the University of Queensland Library's website on loading and using medical journal term lists

Alternatively: Do you want Vancouver, but with superscript in-text reference numbers?
Try the JAMA style instead. This is almost identical to Vancouver except for:

  • the superscript numbers in-text
  • journal title is in italics.

Endnote Online & Endnote on USC computers

USC computers have a standard installation with Microsoft Word 2010 and Endnote available preinstalled. This means that you can use the installed Endnote program on these computers and format the references in your Word documents using the Endnote toolbar tab at the top of the screen.

Endnote Web requires its own Word toolbar, but this is preinstalled on USC machines and is easy to activate by following these steps:

  • Activate the Endnote tab
  • Click on Preferences (a dialog box will open)

 EndNote Online preferences

  • Highlight "Application" tab
  • Change Endnote to EndnoteWeb in drop-down menu. Click OK.
  • Toggle back to the Endnote toolbar using the same procedure if you need to.

Endnote preferences

NOTE: The toolbar change will take a few seconds while Word loads up your EndnoteWeb (=Endnote Online) components.

Change bibliography font and formatting

In your Word Document have the Endnote toolbar open.  Go to the Bibliography section and click on the bottom right corner.

Endnote Bibliography

A box appears – click on Layout.  Change font to Times New Roman and Size to 12.  Click OK

Endnote bibliography layout

 


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D