Guides: Quality Learning and Teaching: Journals & Databases

Key databases

Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases, if your research extends beyond the Education discipline try a multi-disciplinary database eg Scopus

A+ Education (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database of images and journal articles on childhood and adult learning, indigenous and international education, and management issues relevant to all teaching professionals (including higher education).
ERIC (Institute of Educational Sciences) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database containing journal articles, books, reports, opinion papers, serials, tests, guides, dissertations, proceedings and speeches.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database with access to education-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large database covering 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers. Scopus is a citation only database with links to full text where available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Source: ISI Web of Knowledge website.
PsycNet (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides citations and abstracts covering scholarly literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
UniSC library link to Google Scholar
Learn how to link Google Scholar to UniSC library, easy way to access full-text articles found using Google Scholar searching.

Other recommended databases

Education Database (ProQuest One) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive teaching, learning, and research destination of abstract and full text scholarly journals, videos, dissertations, reference work, grey literature, popular news sources, and more for the discipline of education.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full-text for more than 2,000 scholarly publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text journals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,500 journals. Source: EBSCO website

Featured journals

Australian Educational Leader
Australian Educational Leader is recognised nationally and internationally as a practical journal for the exchange of current research, trends, and innovations. It is proved to be a valuable resource for accessing and leading educational practice with contemporary techniques and contexts.
The Australian Journal of Education
The Australian Journal of Education, established in 1957, is an international peer-reviewed journal publishing research conducted in Australia and internationally to inform educational researchers, as well as educators, administrators and policy-makers, about issues of contemporary concern in education.
Child Development
As the flagship journal of the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD), Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research.
Metacognition and learning
Addresses fundamental theoretical issues, measurement issues regarding both quantitative and qualitative methods, as well as empirical studies about individual differences in metacognition.