Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism by The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism is the gold standard for anyone who wishes to understand the development and current state of literary theory. Offering 185 pieces (31 of them new) by 148 authors (18 of them new), The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism, Second Edition, is more comprehensive, and more varied, in its selection than any other anthology. New selections from non-western theory and a thoroughly updated twentieth century selection make the book even more diverse and authoritative.
Call Number: PN86.N67 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms by The Bedford Glossary is a comprehensive reference that clearly and accessibly defines hundreds of important literary and critical terms from classical times to the present, making them real and relevant to twenty-first century students through examples uniquely drawn from contemporary literary and popular culture.
Call Number: PN44.5 .M86 2009
Publication Date: 2008
An Introduction to Literature, Criticism and Theory by Lively, original and highly readable, An Introduction to Literature, Criticism and Theory is the essential guide to literary studies. Starting at ¿The Beginning¿ and concluding with ¿The End¿, chapters range from the familiar, such as ¿Character¿, ¿Narrative¿ and ¿The Author¿, to the more unusual, such as ¿Secrets¿, ¿Pleasure¿ and ¿Ghosts¿. Now in its fifth edition, Bennett and Royle¿s classic textbook successfully illuminates complex ideas by engaging directly with literary works, so that a reading of Jane Eyre opens up ways of thinking about racial difference, for example, while Chaucer, Raymond Chandler and Monty Python are all invoked in a discussion of literature and laughter. The fifth edition has been revised throughout and includes four new chapters ¿ ¿Feelings¿, ¿Wounds¿, ¿Body¿ and ¿Love¿ ¿ to incorporate exciting recent developments in literary studies. In addition to further reading sections at the end of each chapter, the book contains a comprehensive bibliography and a glossary of key literary terms. A breath of fresh air in a field that can often seem dry and dauntingly theoretical, this book will open the reader¿s eyes to the exhilarating possibilities of reading and studying literature.
Call Number: PN45 .B39 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Semiotics, structuralism, poststructuralism, deconstruction
The Edinburgh Companion to Poststructuralism by Written by experts in their field, this Companion surveys the challenges and provocations raised by the major voices of poststructuralism: Foucault, Deleuze, Derrida, Cixous, Lyotard, Guattari, Kristeva, Irigaray, Barthes and Baudrillard. Thematically organised and clearly written, it willguide students and researchers in philosophy, literature, art, geography, politics, sociology, law, film, and cultural studies around the nature and contemporary relevance of poststructuralism.
Publication Date: 2013
Structuralism by John Sturrock's classic explication of Structuralism represents the most succinct and balanced survey available of amajor critical movement associated with the thought of such keyfigures as Lévi-Strauss, Foucault, Barthes, Lacan andAlthusser theory. A classic work in literary and cultural theory. Reissued to coincide with calls for a return to structuralism. Includes a new introduction by Jean-Michel Rabaté, which explores developments in the reception of structuralist theory in the past five to ten years.
Publication Date: 2003
Barthes by The purpose of this book is to unravel the various strands of Barthes' thinking, present key concepts in historical context, and identify the areas where his influence is most strongly felt today.
Publication Date: 2002
Semiotics by This four-volume set offers the most extensive, systematic and in-depth survey of the foundations and development of semiotics as a field. It covers foundational texts in semiotics, from the constitution of the field in the early 20th century, through its blossoming with the advent of structuralism in the 1960s and '70s and the formative dialogue between structuralism and Marxism. It goes on to present a representative selection of central essays in literary semiotics, narratology and poetics, the semiotics of anthropology, myth, art, architecture, music, theatre, film, fashion and other aspects of contemporary culture.
Publication Date: 2003
After Poststructuralism by In the last decades of the twentieth century, French poststructuralist 'theory' transformed the humanities; it also met with resistance and today we frequently hear that theory is 'dead'. In this brilliantly argued volume, Colin Davis: *reconsiders key arguments for and against theory, identifying significant misreadings *reassesses the contribution of poststructuralist thought to the critical issues of knowledge, ethics, hope and identity *sheds new light on the work of Jean-François Lyotard, Emmanuel Levinas, Louis Althusser and Julia Kristeva in a stunning series of readings *offers a fresh perspective on recent debates around the death of theory. In closing he argues that theory may change, but it will not go away. After poststructuralism, then, comes the afterlife of poststructuralism. Wonderfully accessible, this is an account of the past and present fortunes of theory, suitable for anyone researching, teaching, or studying in the field. And yet it is much more than this. Colin Davis provides a way forward for the humanities - a way forward in which theory will play a crucial part.
Publication Date: 2004
Literary criticism and theory
The Literary Theory Handbook by The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories. A new edition of this highly successful text, which includes updated and refined chapters, and new sections on contemporary theories Far reaching in its inclusion of a detailed history of theory and in-depth discussions of major theories and movements Four distinct perspectives on theory--historical, thematic, biographical, practical--are carefully intertwined, so that key concepts, terms and ideas are developed in different contexts and cross-referenced, in the text and in the index. Includes alphabetically-arranged biographies designed for quick reference, and sample readings to illustrate the practical application of theory
Publication Date: 2013
The Blackwell Guide to Literary Theory by This student-friendly text introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, as well as showing them how to perform literary analysis. Designed to be used alongside primary theoretical texts as an introduction to theory or alongside literary texts as a model for performing literary analysis. Presents a series of exemplary readings of particular literary texts such as Jane Eyre, Heart of Darkness, Ulysses, To the Lighthouse and Midnight's Children. Provides a brief history of the rise of literary theory in the twentieth century, in order that students understand the historical contexts for different theories. Presents an alphabetically organized series of entries on key figures and publications, from Adorno to Žižek. Features descriptions of the major movements in literary theory, from critical theory through to postcolonial theory.
Publication Date: 2007
Animating structuralism and poststructuralism
Derrida on Deconstruction