Guides: Nutrition and Dietetics: Journals & Databases

Browse nutrition journals

Evidence based practice resources

UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support tool trusted by clinicians to make the right point-of-care decisions. Also includes great patient education content, practice guidelines, drug interaction and calculators.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of databases containing reviews and analysis of medical research, trials, method studies, technology assessments and economic evaluations. Key source of information in evidence-based medicine (EBM).
JBI EBP Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Full text and index database of evidence based practice resources in nursing and allied health science specialities. Contains Evidence Based (EB) Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports.
- This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window Therapeutic Guidelines is a full text and index database with clinical guidelines for health practitioners. Includes current evidence - based treatment and care recommendations. Register for Therapeutic Guidelines App: You need to be on campus or using USC Anywhere to complete the Token Registration form. When the form is completed, you will receive an email with a token and app download instructions.
Natural Medicines (TRC) This link opens in a new window Full text access to evidence-based information and books on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

MSD Manual Professional version

Campbell Collaboration A not-for-profit organization that makes accessible systematic reviews in the social sciences for the purpose of evidence-based policy and practice. Free full-text.

OT Seeker This link opens in a new window Occupational Therapy (OT) is an abstract database containing systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials (RCTs) specific to occupational therapy practice up to 2017. Evidence - based practice resources.

Occupational therapy- Clinical trials A search engine of over 1000 clinical trials on the effectiveness of OT interventions. From NHS Choices portal (UK).
speechBITE Search for EB studies in speech pathology.

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials (RCTs) and clinical practice guidelines.
- This link opens in a new window

eLENA-e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions The WHO electronic Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) includes a wide variety of intervention topics as part of its first edition. Nutrition actions ranging from topic areas such as: breastfeeding, complementary feeding, micronutrient supplementation, severe acute malnutrition treatments, and deworming are included.
Evidence-Informed Public Health From Canada's National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT). Includes the 6S Pyramid to efficiently SEARCH the research evidence
USDA Evidence Library NEL specializes in conducting systematic reviews to inform (US) Federal nutrition policy and programs. The Library evaluates, synthesizes, and grades the strength of the evidence to support conclusions.
Epistemonikos Systemastic reviews and more harvested from multiple sources. Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

Databases for nutrition and dietetics

Use the full-text PDF icon to display a full article. If none is visible try clicking the Article linker button that you will often see next to an article. It will attempt to search our ejournal holdings for the article.

Global Health (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Large international database with many sources not covered by other databases. Very good nutrition coverage. Indexes books and reports as well as journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Huge database covering all academic disciplines. Contains all Pubmed records. Indexes 18,000 journals in all academic disciplines with 40 million entries.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database of high quality research journals.
Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window Best Australian health database. Covers all aspects of health and medicine, including allied health, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and allied health fields. Full-text 1997+
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window Abstract database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes full text links to journal articles on medicine and free access to citations and abstracts in Medline. Includes research articles, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full text and index database of journal articles, reviews, trade publications and magazines covering many areas of medicine. Access to Lexi-PAL Drug Guide (drug education information sheets for patients).
Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A collection of full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, dissertations and theses, reference materials, magazines, newspapers, case studies, reports, guidelines and standards across the health and medical disciplines.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full text and index database for journals and monographs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search tool for full text and citations of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities. Instructions: To get full-text articles, set your Google Scholar preferences.

Find an article from a citation

If you have the reference/citation of a journal article, follow the steps shown for this example:

Segal, MN & Giacobbe, RW 2007, 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services', Services Marketing Quarterly, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 33-53.

Identify
- the journal title - Services Marketing Quarterly
- the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- the year of publication - 2007
- the volume - vol. 28
- the issue - no. 3
- the pages - pp. 33-35
On the library website, select Journal Title Search
Type the journal title in the search field and search
Find the journal and select Check for availability
Select the database that has the year of publication
- Click on the database link. This takes you to journal
In the database, select the year of publication
- Identify the volume and the issue number
- Click on the appropriate issue
Select the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
- Browse to the correct page numbers OR
- Use the Search within current journal to search for the article title
- If you see Article Linker, follow the link to the full text of the article
Save or print the article
- Download the full text (pdf version)

Nutrition and Dietetics

Journals & databases

Browse nutrition journals

Evidence based practice resources

Databases for nutrition and dietetics

Find an article from a citation