Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo

Public Health (including Health Promotion)

A guide to quality public health and health promotion information

Browse public health journals with BrowZine

Evidence based practice resources

Major databases

Use the full-text PDF icon to dispay a full article. If none is visible try clicking the Article linker button that you will often see next to an article. It will attempt to search our ejournal holdings for the article.

Selected journals for public health

There are many articles in medical, nursing and other allied health journals with direct relevance to public health practice. For this reason, you should attempt to become proficient in searching the health literature using the databases and evidence based medicine practice tools listed in this guide.

Scientific American is a magazine with great review articles written by world leading experts on most science related topics. They are great starters to understanding a topic.

Find an article from a citation

If you have the reference/citation of a journal article, follow the steps shown for this example:

Segal, MN & Giacobbe, RW 2007, 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services', Services Marketing Quarterly, vol. 28, no. 3, pp. 33-53.

  1. Identify
    • the journal title - Services Marketing Quarterly
    • the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
    • the year of publication - 2007
    • the volume - vol. 28
    • the issue - no. 3
    • the pages - pp. 33-35
  2. On the library website, select Journal Title Search
  3. Type the journal title in the search field and search
  4. Find the journal and select Check for availability
  5. Select the database that has the year of publication
    • Click on the database link. This takes you to journal
  6. In the database, select the year of publication
    • Identify the volume and the issue number
    • Click on the appropriate issue
  7. Select the article title - 'Ethical Issues in Australian marketing research services'
    • Browse to the correct page numbers OR
    • Use the Search within current journal to search for the article title
    • If you see Article Linker, follow the link to the full text of the article
  8. Save or print the article
    • Download the full text (pdf version)
© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D