Guides: Engineering Honours Project: Journals & Databases

Key databases

Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases

ASCE Library
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) provides full-text information from journals, eBooks, standards and proceedings across all disciplines of civil engineering.
ASME Digital Collection
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection is a repository of current and archival full text resources including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings and ebooks on mechanical engineering.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Full text access to quality technical literature in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Technology.
ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library is a collection of citations and full text information including journal articles, newsletter articles and conference proceedings, produced by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Institution of Engineering and Technology - IET.TV
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET.tv) is one of the world's largest collated repositories of authoritative content, comprising 6,500 presentations, lectures and training videos covering engineering, electrical engineering, technology and robotics. It offers insight, workflow solutions and access to inspirational events and expert communities.
Scopus
Large database covering 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers. Scopus is a citation only database with links to full text where available.
Web of Science
Citation database. Science, arts and social science citation indexes. Includes cited reference searching. Science Citation Index Expanded - provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Engineering Collection (Informit)
Collection provides access to content from Engineers Australia (EA) and the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ). Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, reports and conference proceedings. Contains full-text access to ENGINE (Australian Engineering Index), Australian Transport Index BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database.

Transportation Research Board
Transportation practitioners, researchers, public officials, and other professionals need credible, high-quality information and research results to address the transportation challenges of the 21st century.

The Transportation Research Board engages professionals worldwide in a broad range of interdisciplinary, multimodal activities to lay the foundation for innovative transportation solutions.
Source: TRB website

Featured journals

Student eNEWS
Student eNews is published monthly except December and January. It is emailed to Student members of Engineers Australia free of charge as a member service.
International journal of pavement engineering
The International Journal of Pavement Engineering is dedicated to the publication of cutting edge research and development in such important types of structures and facilities, including advanced analytical and computational techniques, pavement mechanics, laboratory techniques, non-destructive testing, innovative design approaches and their implementation, construction, performance, maintenance and rehabilitation techniques.
Journal of materials in civil engineering
The Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering covers the development, processing, evaluation, applications, and performance of construction materials in civil engineering. Source: ASCE publisher website.
Coastal engineering journal
Coastal Engineering Journal is a peer-reviewed medium for the publication of research achievements and engineering practices in the fields of coastal, harbor and offshore engineering. The CEJ editors welcome original papers and comprehensive reviews on waves and currents, sediment motion and morphodynamics, as well as on structures and facilities.
Cement and Concrete Research
ISBN: 00088846

The aim of Cement and Concrete Research is to publish the best research on cement, cement composites, concrete and other allied materials that incorporate cement. In doing so, the journal will present: the results of research on the properties and performance of cement and concrete; novel experimental techniques; the latest analytical and modelling methods; the examination and the diagnosis of real cement and concrete structures; and the potential for improved materials. Source:Publisher Elsevier website
Wood Science and Technology
ISBN: 00437719

Wood Science and Technology publishes original scientific research results and review papers covering the entire field of wood material science, wood components and wood based products. Subjects are wood biology and wood quality, wood physics and physical technologies, wood chemistry and chemical technologies. Latest advances in areas such as cell wall and wood formation; structural and chemical composition of wood and wood composites and their property relations; physical, mechanical and chemical characterization and relevant methodological developments, and microbiological degradation of wood and wood based products are reported.
(Source: Springer)
Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering
The Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering disseminates to the profession engineering and scientific advances made in the COPRI disciplines. The journal is a strong forum for civil engineering disciplines related to ocean, coastal and riverine waters as well as the interaction of these waters and the adjacent built and natural environments.