Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC logo
Library Guides

Systematic Reviews

A guide to conducting systematic reviews at the University of the Sunshine Coast

Locating Systematic Reviews

Before starting work on a systematic review check to ensure that a systematic review does not already exist, or is currently under way.

A check of what systematic reviews already exist in your discipline may also provide a starting point for selecting a review topic.

Systematic Review Databases

The following databases extensively index the systematic review literature in their discipline.

The Campbell Library

Campbell Collaboration - Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

Cochrane Library Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) - Cochrane Reviews - Includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
DARE Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects seeks to identify the best quality systematic reviews being published. It complements the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews by offering a selection of quality-assessed reviews in those subjects where there is currently no Cochrane Review.
 
DoPHER DoPHER (Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews) contains details of over 2,500 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.
 
ePPI Centre

The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. EPPI develops systematic reviews and developing review methods in social science and public policy.

The Joanna Briggs Institute

Joanna Briggs Institute - an international collaboration involving nursing, medical and allied health researchers, clinicians, academics and quality managers across 40 countries in every continent. The University of Newcastle is an Evidence Synthesis Group, within the Evidence Based Health Care Group.

OT Seeker - Occupational Therapy OTSeeker - database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 20,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PsycBite PsycBITE indexes systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, case series on cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
 
speechBITE SpeechBite is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia. Studies on this database include Systematic Reviews (SR), Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCT), Case Series (CS), and Single Case Experimental Design (SCED).
 

Additional Databases indexing Systematic Reviews

The following databases index a range of publications and study designs, including systematic reviews.

CINAHL
  • Click Edit button(to the right of the search)
  • Select Systematic Review from the Select Publication Type drop down list.
MEDLINE
  • Click Add additional search limits.
  • Select Systematic Reviews from the Information on subject subsets drop down list.

          For meta analysis, select Meta Analysis from the Information on publication types drop down list.


OR

PUBMED
  • Click Limits (under the search box), then Systematic Reviews from Subsets.

 

© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D