Skip to Main Content
USC logo

Literature for the Classroom: Early Years and Primary

Children's Book Council of Australia

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a volunteer run, not for profit, organisation that was established in 1945 and is comprised of branches of individual members who are passionate about children's and young adult literature. (Source: website). CBCA's annual Book of the Year and Honour Book Awards are a highlight of the Australian children's literature calendar.       

Find out the 2024 shortlist title from                                                                                  

Queensland Literary Awards

State Library began to manage the Queensland Literary Awards in 2014. For the two years prior, a thriving volunteer community of writers, readers, booksellers, academic and donors led the awards. Prior to 2012, the 'Queensland Premier's Literary Awards', established in 1998, were managed directly by the Queensland Government. State Library is proud to manage this unique awards program in collaboration with the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland. The awards celebrate outstanding creatives, foster partnerships, and honour the work of First Nations writers as important storytellers.

For more information the list of current and previous winners is available from Queensland Literary Awards

Australian Book Industry Awards

The Australian Book Industry Awards celebrate the achievements of authors and publishers in bringing Australian books to readers. There are 14 awards in the Book Award category including Illustrated Book of the Year, Picture Book of the Year, Book of the Year for Younger Children, Book of the Year for Older Children and Small Publishers' Children's Book of the Year.

The 2024 Shortlist can be found on the Book Awards Shortlists page.

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were established in 2008. They recognise individual excellence, and the contribution Australian authors make to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. Initially with two categories of non-fiction and fiction, in 2010 the young adult and children’s literature categories were introduced, with the addition of the Poetry category in 2012 and the incorporation of the pre-existing Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History. (source: website)

Shortlist for 2024 available shortly 

© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D