Guides: Tourism, Leisure & Event Management: Journals & Databases

Tourism, Leisure & Events Journals

Journal of Travel Research
USC subscription: 1972 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: A* (2013)
ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking-2012: 5/35 (Hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism)
Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research
USC subscription: 1996 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: B (2013)
ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking-2012: 32/35 (Hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism)

Official journal of the Asia Pacific Tourism Association
Journal of Sustainable Tourism
USC subscription: 1993 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: A* (2013)
ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking-2012: 2/35 (Hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism)
Information Technology & Tourism
USC subscription: 2009 to present
Double-blind Peer Review
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: B (2013)
Annals of Tourism Research
USC subscription: 1973 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: A* (2013)
ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking-2012: 1/35 (Hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism); 3/139 (Sociology)
Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management
USC subscription: 2006 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: B (2013)

Official journal of the Council of Australasian University Tourism and Hospitality Education Incorporation (CAUTHE).
Journal of Ecotourism
USC subscription: 2002 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: B (2013)
Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing
USC subscription: 1992 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: A (2013)
International Journal of Hospitality Management
USC subscription: 1982 to present
Peer Reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
The Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) ranking: A* (2013)
ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking-2012: 8/35 (Hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism)

What is a DOI?

DOI (Digital Object Identifier):

A permanent internet address for a journal article etc
Not used by all journals
When used it is found
- on the first page of the article
- sometimes in a citation. Eg APA:

Bugg, J. M., DeLosh, E. L., & McDaniel, M. A. (2008). Improving students' study habits by demonstrating the mnemonic benefits of semantic processing. Teaching of Psychology, 35(2), 96-98. doi: 10.1080/00986280801977519

DOI resolver:

Create a weblink from a DOI

Key Tourism & Business Databases

UNWTO eLibrary This link opens in a new window
A full text collection of statistics, journal articles, and eBooks covering many of the major tourism topics from across the world.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database with peer reviewed journal articles and ebooks primarily focusing on business, management and social sciences.
Informit Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full text and abstract databases including peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers, theses, government reports, discussion papers, and book chapters from Australasia's research institutions.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text EBSCO database for more than 2,300 journals covering all business disciplines. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Full reports on selected Australian industries and companies that include executive summaries, financial analyses, recent performance and forecasts. Also has business environment profiles which cover consumer information and economic factors.

Key newspapers

For earlier articles, check the database Newspaper Source (EBSCO) or US Newsstream (ProQuest).

Australian Financial Review
USC subscription from: 2013
The New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
USC subscription from: 1980
The New Zealand Herald
USC subscription from: 2004
The Strait Times (Singapore)
USC subscription from: 2011
The Times (UK)
USC subscription from: April 18, 1992
The Wall Street Journal (online)
USC subscription from: 2010