Guides: Language and Literacies in Education: Journals and Databases

Featured journals

English in Australia
‘English in Australia’ is the journal of the Australian Association for the Teaching of English (AATE). They welcome articles in any field of language and literacy education. The name of the journal is in no way parochial. Articles will be considered from anywhere which professes English as mother tongue or second language.
Literacy Today
Literacy Today (formerly Reading Today), ILA's bimonthly member magazine, connects you with your community and empowers and inspires you, no matter where you are in your career. Every issue highlights our members' accomplishments, shares instructional ideas, and reports on hot topics in the field. Source: ILA Publisher website
Literacy research and instruction
ISBN: 1938-8063
Literacy Research and Instruction (formerly Reading Research and Instruction), the official journal of the College Reading Association, is an international refereed professional journal that publishes articles dealing with research and instruction in reading education and allied literacy fields. Source: publisher website
Voices from the Middle
Voices from the Middle offers articles on research and best practices in middle level reading, writing, speaking, and listening in the visual and language arts. Our mission is to be the cornerstone for the ongoing professional development of language arts educators. (Published September, December, March, and May). Source: Publisher website (National Council of Teachers of English).

A to Z of Early Childhood
A to Z of Early Childhood is the Early Childhood Education and Care's regular e-newsletter.

The e-newsletter provides information on early childhood initiatives, topics and issues in Queensland to assist educators, services and providers in delivering quality education and care for children aged from birth to 8.
Source: QLD Govt Early Childhood Education and Care website.

Start your search for journal articles by selecting one of these databases

A+ Education (Informit) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database of images and journal articles on childhood and adult learning, indigenous and international education, and management issues relevant to all teaching professionals (including higher education).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large database covering 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers. Scopus is a citation only database with links to full text where available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Source: ISI Web of Knowledge website.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database with access to education-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC (Institute of Educational Sciences) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database containing journal articles, books, reports, opinion papers, serials, tests, guides, dissertations, proceedings and speeches.

Education Database (ProQuest One) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive teaching, learning, and research destination of abstract and full text scholarly journals, videos, dissertations, reference work, grey literature, popular news sources, and more for the discipline of education.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full-text for more than 2,000 scholarly publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text journals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,500 journals. Source: EBSCO website

This needs to be done for each browser you use (IE, Firefox, Safari, etc.).

The preferences will enable: