It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USC clients in the above categories have full access to the installed software version of Endnote. This has considerably more features than EndnoteWeb and is more suitable for longstanding research projects.
Contact ITS if you think the Endnote program is not installed on your USC work PC.
You can download the installation software from the Installation page to put Endnote onto your home PC or laptop (Mac version available as well). The Library has regular Endnote training classes for staff and postgrads.
Free citation formatting from the makers of NoodleTools. NoodleBib Express does MLA, APA, and Chicago, and has options for dozens of types of sources, from books and articles to patents, letters, and TV programs.
EndNote Online provides the ability to save and organize citations as well as format them. If you don't need long term storage of citations, if you don't think you'll reuse them, or if you just need a quick formatted citation in a major style, you might want to try one of these other options.
Many databases and websites provide citations formatting in APA and other styles (but NEVER for the Harvard(Qld) or Vancouver styles in use at USC). Look for buttons and links that say something like, "Cite Now" or "How to Cite". Some databases will have a citation at the bottom of the page.
In EBSCO databases, the button looks like a page:
Warning: Always double check automated formatting against the rules and examples provided in style manuals and guides. Be especially careful of capitalization, proper names, and dates.
The Citation Machine will do APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian style citations for the most common types of sources: books, book chapters, articles, webpages, images, videos, etc. Both in-text (parenthetical) references and the full citation for the bibliography are produced and ready for copying and pasting into your document.
MS Word 2007 has a bibliography feature built in. Click on the References tab, choose your style (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and a few more obscure ones), and start entering sources to create your own mini-database of references ready to insert.
Other Bibliographic Software
Please note: The University of the Sunshine Coast does not provide support for the following software.
A free service for managing and discovering scholarly references.
Free online reference management for all researchers, clinicians and scientists. No download required.
Is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
You must acknowledge the work of others when you use their work in your assignments. You cite or reference their work within your essays and include the details of these references (also called citations) in a reference list at the end of your essays.
The first Harvard Guide listed is also available for sale at Printing Services, Building R.
Through your course you may need to use one or more of these three referencing styles:
APA Style. The 6th edition of the APA Manual of Style is the latest (Library location BF76.7 .P83 2010). Some lecturers may still require you to use 5th edition guidelines
The Harvard (Author-date) Style following the recommended style of the Australian government (Snooks 2002).
Vancouver Style. Widely used in medicine and biomedical sciences.
VERY IMPORTANT: If your course outline or lecturer gives you different instructions on referencing, always follow those.
The resources below are recommended guides to these styles.
AMA Manual of Style , 11th editionThe basis of USCs Vancouver recommendations.
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.