Guides: International Business: Journals & Databases

Quality journals list

The Australian Business Deans Council Journal Quality list ranks journals A*, A, B, and C.

ABDC Master Journal List
This ranked list of journals is provided by the Australian Business Deans Council. Titles are ranked A*, A, B, and C. There is an Excel spreadsheet in title order, rather than rank order, that can be downloaded.
Australian Business Deans Council

Online Journals

Use the links below to search these relevant journals.

European Management Journal
UniSC subscription: 1982 to present
Double-blind peer-reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
Harvard Business Review
UniSC subscription: 1922 to present
Peer-reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
Journal of Global Marketing
UniSC subscription: 1988 to present
Peer-reviewed
Academic/Scholarly
MIT: Sloan Management Review
UniSC subscription: 1988 to present
Peer-reviewed
Academic/Scholarly

Key Business Databases

Click on these links to search premium business databases.

Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text and index database with peer reviewed journal articles and ebooks primarily focusing on business, management and social sciences.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full text EBSCO database for more than 2,300 journals covering all business disciplines. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Annual Business Inquiry (ABI) is a full text and index database on business, economics and management. Includes journal articles, conference papers and reports.

Australian Company/Industry/Market Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Full reports on selected Australian industries and companies that include executive summaries, financial analyses, recent performance and forecasts. Also has business environment profiles which cover consumer information and economic factors.

This database also covers Australian Business Environment Profiles in addition to its industry and company reports. The profiles cover Community consumption and socio-economic information, as well as Economic and Financial information.

International Industry/Market Databases

Industry reports contain substantive competitive analysis of industries. They are written by industry experts and combine primary and secondary research and data analysis to craft an historical, current and forecasted picture of an industry. They can include competitive analysis, market trends and market share, market segmentation, product innovations, buyer behavior, distribution channels, operational benchmarks, key competitors, company profiles etc.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database with company, industry and country information from over 200 countries. Includes market data analysis, Porters 5 forces, PESTLE analyses and SWOT analysis.

Key newspapers

For earlier articles, check the database Newspaper Source (EBSCO) or US Newsstream (ProQuest).

Australian Financial Review
UniSC subscription from: 2013
The New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
UniSC subscription from: 1980
The New Zealand Herald
UniSC subscription from: 2004
The Strait Times (Singapore)
UniSC subscription from: 2011
The Times (UK)
UniSC subscription from: April 18, 1992
The Wall Street Journal (online)
UniSC subscription from: 2010