Guides: Becoming a Teacher: Journals and Databases

Featured journals

Australian Journal of Education
Peer Reviewed. Subjects: Education; Education (Theory & practice); Education (General)
Coverage: Volume 35, Issue 1 (1991) - onwards (Comprehensive)
Australian Journal of Indigenous Education
Peer Reviewed. Full text access. Subjects: Education; Indigenous; School management; Special education; Indigenous peoples
Coverage: From 1973 Volume 1, Issue 1
Australian Journal of Middle Schooling
Peer reviewed. Full text access.Subjects: Education; Secondary education
Coverage: Volume 1, Issue 1 (May 2001) - onwards (Comprehensive)
Education in Rural Australia
Peer reviewed. Full text access. Subjects: Education; Education (Theory & practice)
Coverage: Volume 1, Issue 1 (1991) - onwards (Comprehensive)

Key databases

A+ Education (Informit)
Full text and index database of images and journal articles on childhood and adult learning, indigenous and international education, and management issues relevant to all teaching professionals (including higher education).

Changes to the ERIC Database

Please be aware that changes are being made to the ERIC database.

The ERIC Help Desk has stated: “The [US] Department of Education is working with the Department of Government Efficiency to “reduce overall Federal spending” and “reallocate spending to promote efficiency” (EO 14222). As a result, ERIC will be significantly reducing the number of records we index going forward. We expect to be reducing the collection by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025. Subject matter was not considered during the process to identify which sources would be made inactive. Please note that all records currently in ERIC will remain available.”

There is not yet a definitive list of all deselected journals, however an unofficial working document is being collated by researchers and librarians. Note this document is not affiliated with the University of the Sunshine Coast.

We will continue to update this notice when more information is available.

Overton