Skip to main content
  USC logo Library  

Open Access

Open Access information for USC researchers

AOASG Blog Posts

Loading

Australian Open Access Support Group

The Australian Open Access Support Group (AOASG) exists to:

  1. Provide an advocacy voice for open access to research in Australia.
  2. Increase awareness of the importance of open access, and target advocacy to
    Australian research institutions, funders and the wider community.
  3. Where appropriate to correspond with and advocate open access to publishers.
  4. Share knowledge and experience and work collaboratively with groups in support of
    open access.
  5. Be an Australian voice to interact with other international organisations.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.

Sherpa/RoMEO

Sherpa/RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.

What use is RoMEO to me?

If an academic author wants to put their research articles on-line, they are faced with an increasingly complex situation. Evidence shows that citations to articles made openly accessible in this way are taken up and cited more often than research that is simply published in journals. Also some funding agencies require open access archiving for their research, to increase the use of the information generated.

However, some publishers prohibit authors from using their own articles in this way. Others allow it, but only under certain conditions, while others are quite happy for authors to show their work in this way. Authors can be left confused: RoMEO helps to clarify the situation.

What does RoMEO contain?

RoMEO contains publishers' general policies on self-archiving of journal articles and certain conference series. Each entry provides a summary of the publisher's policy, including what version of an article can be deposited, where it can be deposited, and any conditions that are attached to that deposit. RoMEO is currently run by SHERPA Services, at the University of Nottingham, UK.

RoMEO also contains a list of publishers that allow deposit of the published PDF version of an article in an institutional repository, and can be found here.

Open Access Directory

The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large. By bringing many OA-related lists together in one place, OAD makes it easier for everyone to discover them, use them for reference, and update them. The easier they are to maintain and discover, the more effectively they can spread useful, accurate information about OA.

Published by OAD is a List of publishers of Open Access books. The number of OA scholarly book publishers is growing rapidly. These books have the same benefits as OA jourals. Your work is more discoverable, however choose your publisher wisely and ensure there is a robust peer review process.

Creative Commons Australia

Creative Commons Australia is an international non-profit organisation that provides free licences and tools that copyright owners can use to allow others to share, reuse and remix their material, legally.

Creative Commons Australia is the affiliate that supports Creative Commons in Australia and administers the Australian Creative Commons licences.

Sherpa/JULIET

Sherpa/JULIET is a searchable online database of research funders‘ Open Access policies and requirements.

Directory of Open Access Repositories

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)

Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system. Developed by the Association of Research Libraries, SPARC has become a catalyst for change. Its pragmatic focus is to stimulate the emergence of new scholarly communication models that expand the dissemination of scholarly research and reduce financial pressures on libraries. Action by SPARC in collaboration with stakeholders – including authors, publishers, and libraries – builds on the unprecedented opportunities created by the networked digital environment to advance the conduct of scholarship. Leading academic organizations have endorsed SPARC.


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D