Skip to main content
  USC logo Library  

Finding suitable journals

Sets out the process of finding suitable journals

Your objectives in publishing

When you want to publish, think about where you would like to publish and why. For example, you may have a journal that you are familiar with and would like to publish there. You may also want to publish in a high ranking journal. These considerations come into play when choosing a journal to publish in.

For more information, look at the Publish your Research, Measure Its Impact guide, and the HERDC guide.

Next step

Consult the ERA 2015 journal list. 

Have a look at the Field of Research Codes list to work out your Research Code.

On the ERA excel list, sort by your Field of Research Code

Look through this shorter list for relevant titles.

For more information, look at the Library guide on FOR Codes.

For more help

Please contact Sue Svensen at the library on 5430 2803 or ssvense1@usc.edu.au

Finding and evaluating journals

Verify your journal

You can verify if your journal is peer reviewed and still active by using the Ulrich's database.

To find this database, go to the Library homepage - Databases - Bibliographic - Ulrich'sweb.

To check that a journal is peer reviewed, check for this symbol

Go to the journal homepage after Ulrich'sweb, and check a few articles and the author guidelines.

Impact Factor

"Impact Factor" is available from Journal Citation ReportsJournal Citation Reports offer a means to critically evaluate and compare journals using citation data. It is linked to information available from Web of Science.

 

ERA Submission Guidelines

Excellence in Research Performance information is available from the university portal.

SciMago Journal Rank

The SciMago journal rank website allows you to see journals in context of their subject area.  You can also search for a particular journal title. For more information on impact factors, go to the guide Publish Your Research, Measure Its Impact

 

 

 

Business ABDC Journal list

Using Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar

Use Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar to search for your subject area, and see what journals are listed. Check who has cited the article and the related articles.

ERA Journals List

ERA is a comprehensive quality evaluation of all research produced in Australian universities against national and international benchmarks. The ratings are determined and moderated by committees of distinguished researchers, drawn from Australia and overseas. 

Click here for more information on ERA including the Journals List

 

 

Field of Research Codes list

Field of Research Codes are available from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.  For more information, look at the guide.

Journal quality and Scopus - SNIP and SJR

Using the Scopus database, you can check the following measures of journal quality:  SNIP (Source Normalised Impact Per Paper) and SJR (SciMago Journal Ranking).  SNIP is a useful measure because it allows you to compare journal quality across different disciplines. It's good for the Arts and Humanities.

You aim for the SNIP and SJR to be above 1 but this is not always possible. Just aim for higher numbers. 

To access Scopus, go to the Library Homepage - Databases - Research - Scopus

For more information on impact, look at the guide Research Metrics.

Field Weighted Citation Impact

Field-Weighted Citation Impact takes into account the differences in research behavior across disciplines. 

Sourced from SciVal, this metric indicates how the number of citations received by a researchers publications compares with the average number of citations received by all other similar publications indexed in the Scopus database.

  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of 1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited at world average for similar publications. 
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of greater than 1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited more than would be expected based on the world average for similar publications.
    eg, a score of 1.44 means that the outputs have been cited 44% more times than expected.
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of less than 1.00 indicates that the publications have been cited less that would be expected based on the world average for similar publications. 
    eg, a score of 0.85 means 15% less cited than world average.

Similar publications are those publications in the Scopus database that have the same publication year, publication type and discipline.

Field-Weighted Citation Impact refers to citations received in the year of publication plus the following 3 years.

Field-Weighted Citation Impact metrics are useful to benchmark regardless of differences in size, disciplinary profile, age and publication type composition, and provide a useful way to evaluate the prestige of a researcher’s citation performance.    

The tool used to calculate the Field-Weighted Citation Impact is:

Action:  look for a journal in Scopus that is well regarded in your discipline.  Consider the SJR and SNIP.  Also consider how well cited the journal is.

Also, have a look at the Library guide, Research metrics and go to Field Weighted Citation Impact


© University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia | ABN 28 441 859 157 | CRICOS Provider No. 01595D